Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-10-2004, 10:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

is my old FW tank safe for SW?

I was told that if I'd ever used any kind of copper medication (like malachite green, in my case) in a tank, that the copper would remain behind, and be deadly toxic to any invertebrates (and corals?) I tried to keep.

The bottom silicone in the tank is indeed stained with malachite green, from a 6 day ich treatment.

Is my tank a deathzone to inverts? I'm totally new to SW, and plan to eventually add a few inverts (whatever I can have with 4wpg of power compacts over a 29gallon).

Thanks for any info you can provide.

Old 06-10-2004, 01:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Personally I'd play it safe and not use that tank.. you can always save it as a hospital tank if you need to use meds again.

Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 01:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I'll 2nd that.

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 01:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Me 3! Why take the chance. You can come by a 29g pretty cheap.
Old 06-10-2004, 03:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Well if there is a chance of copper poisoning, then no I'm not going to risk it. If there wasn't a risk I wasn't going to buy another tank I didn't really need.

Thanks for the 2nd opinion. I'll be back with more questions soon enough, but not until I've read the 2 books that'll arrive tomorrow. One's some Saltwater Aquarium: step by step guid, and the other is the well known Conscientious Marine Aquarist (I could be totally wrong about both titles, but they were recommened by every site I asked on)
Old 06-11-2004, 03:10 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak