Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-07-2004, 12:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mass
Posts: 264
Is my RO/DI system working??

I just bought and setup this RO/DI system:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ayphotohosting

I just had the PH checked and it was about 8.9-9.0. My LFS is about 8.2. How do I know for sure that RODI is working correctly? Any way Of knowing. I don't want to use it in my tank and kill something.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
rdefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 12:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 329
You'll need to get a TDS meter. You can pick one up from Ebay for about 25 bucks

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...334379855&rd=1
__________________

__________________
CBRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 02:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
You'll also want to test for chlorine and chloramines - the TDS meter won't pick these up
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 06:25 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
You'll also want to test for chlorine and chloramines - the TDS meter won't pick these up
As long as you have a carbon stage and it's changed every 6 months or so it won't be a concern. Testing for those seperately wouldn't be a benefit.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 06:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mass
Posts: 264
How do I test for chlorine and chloramines?
__________________
rdefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 06:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Get a chlorine and chloramine testing kit :P

I guess you don't know how old the unit is - I'd get a new sediment and carbon filter for it. Then change them every 6 months as steve said. That way you should be ok.
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 07:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mass
Posts: 264
The system is brand new. I just want to make sure that I'm making the same quality water that I can get from ky LFS.
__________________
rdefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 07:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Just test your TDS from your unit, then test the LFS
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 08:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
No need to test for that stuff with a ro/di unit, it will remove it all.
TDS= total dissolved solids, on a new unit it should be 0. As the resin in the di wears out it will rise. If you can get a DI cartridge to last a year as they advertise that would be a miracle. I'm lucks if I get a few months out of my dual DI system. It will all depend on the water quality you start with. Test your water from the tap with the TDS and then the end product and you will see the difference.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What am I working with here. BEANS Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 30 03-05-2009 09:49 AM
RO/DI not working Serpentman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 05-26-2006 11:02 AM
This isn't working Talon242 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-28-2004 11:26 PM
Eco-System 40 HOT System riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-23-2003 12:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.