Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2009, 06:07 PM   #481
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Finally got off my lazy butt and setup the ATO.

Not much to see, but here goes anyway.

The solenoid - dual switch system


All closes up neatly in this little box


Here's the acrylic holder I made for the 2 switches




And, the setup operational. Patent Pending on my resorvoir idea.



Don't mind the wires, I'll get those cleaned up shortly.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 07:24 PM   #482
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
How do you compensate for water that was taken out by the skimmer? Why two switches?
__________________

__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 02:53 PM   #483
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmelski View Post
How do you compensate for water that was taken out by the skimmer? Why two switches?
Are you talking about the water that is injected into the skimmer body or the water that is pulled out into the collection cup?

The water that is injected into the skimmer body is immediately replaced with water coming out of the skimmer. The water level doesn't drop/change. The very minimal amount of water that is "skimmed" out of the tank isn't going to make much difference to the SG overall.

I'll let Neilan explain the reason behind 2 switches. (think fail safe....)
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:20 PM   #484
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Yeah why 2 switches? Now with the Switch I take it one is in the Sump and the other is in the Fuge?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:52 PM   #485
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
mannn...neilanh, great progress, your tank looks super awesome!
__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 04:06 PM   #486
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Just notice the Orange Spot Gobie.... Cool little guy... Did not want to pair up with any Shrimp (Pistol) well with the one I had he made a mess of everything... I think it was a wild Pistol not sure what kind... But I hear the Tiger Pistol and the Randall Pistol shrimps do well with the Orange Spot.
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 06:30 PM   #487
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Alright, so Ziggy commented on the skimmer thing - basically what's removed by the skimmer is so minimal it's not an issue.

Why 2 switches. Well, like Ziggy said it's a fail safe. The lower switch is set at my desired water level. The upper switch is just some arbitrary distance above. I set my upper one just to make sure the wiring from the lower didn't interfere with it.

Picture this. A snail gets into your sump. He decides to go checkout your switches, and gets himself lodged in the switch so that it can not float. The switch gets stuck in the lower position, telling your controller that you need water. The controller, eager to do his job, closes the relay supplying power to the pump. The pump springs into action, providing refreshing, clean RO water into your sump. Yet, that pesky snail is still there, as the water level continues to rise, and rise, and rise.

So, the second switch is the fail safe. First switch gets stuck, second switch has it's back. Both switches must be down for the circuit to close and send electricity to the pump. If either switch is in the up position, power cannot be applied.

I know, lots of words for a simple explanation, but I don't want you to get bored around here.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:46 PM   #488
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
You set up a normally open circuit. With switches that are in parallel with each other. Nice. I have to fill my tank with about 4 cups of RODI every day. Just found this out because I came home today with a tank full of bubbles. I was worried about my pump but it is okay. Yikes. A new regiment is now in effect.
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:54 PM   #489
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
Ahhh what type of pump do you have in your little reef crystal/ RODI bucket? Do you have a heater on it? That may sound dumb but I didnt know how little or how much it would top off during the day.
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 09:10 PM   #490
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
I figured it was a failsafe of some kind but I wasn't sure. What is the part number to the solenoid and it's base/holder looking thing. this looks simple to make. Could you post a diagram of your set-up?
__________________

__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
72 gallon bowfront, 72bow, 72g, build, reef, reef build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frankie's 72G Bow front Reef Video Tank2379 Show Off/Photography 11 02-24-2010 12:42 AM
75 Reef Reverse Build GhostKnife Saltwater Reef Aquaria 29 05-12-2009 12:56 AM
72g Acrylic reef lighting? Reticle Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 09-12-2008 01:08 PM
72G Bow COMPLETE reef setup austinsdad Archive 7 04-26-2006 07:57 AM
What size pump for a reef ready 72G? jamal-188 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 01-01-2004 10:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.