It's so on now - 72g Reef build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

neilanh

Sliced Bread
So I've been talking about it for probably 6 months now, maybe even a year. I guess it finally got real today.

I'm sure most of you know, Ziggy upgraded to a 120 (by way of a 150), and wanted to sell his 72g bowfront tank. Well, since I'm local and have MTS, it seemed only natural that I buy that from him. What better way to start my first reef tank, right?

Ziggy's been a ton of help, I think i've filled up my PM box with questions and answers back and forth to him. Thanks Allen for all your help!

So here's the plan. Right now, I'm running a 125g planted, 46g bowfront community (now the wife's tank), 29g planted and a 20g RCS tank. The 29g and the 20g will be sacrificed, making room for the 72g and to provide sump and fuge for the new tank. All the RCS from the 20 will move into the 125, and all the endlers in the 29 will move to.... well, we won't talk about that.

So here's where I am. I'll get the tank from Ziggy later this week and I guess I'll try to build a stand and canopy for it. That should be ... we'll say fun. Today, I ordered a bunch of equipment (man this stuff ain't cheap). Here's what I ordered:

2x175W IceCap Retro kits (used off of RC, comes with slightly used Ushio 10K bulbs to get me started)
2x54W TEK T5HO Retro Kit (plan to order Geissman Super Actinic bulbs)
Octopus NW-150 Skimmer
6 stage 100gpd RO/DI unit
Mag 9.5 for return pump
Mag 7 for Closed Loop
2 Koralia 2 pumps
Timers