Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-23-2009, 10:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

I've got crabs

I am kind of new to salt water fish, well I am brand new and am just setting up a new tank. I put in some live rock the other day, and later that night I was taking a look around and noticed a very small crab in there. As soon as I turned the light on to get a better look it disapeared into a crevice in the rock. I am hoping this is not too much of a bad thing. I am not sure of what kind it is, but it had black on it's pinchers and it looked a bit furry, and the main clour was white. It is about the size of my thunbnail. Does anybody know what type of crab this is and what I should do. I have no idea of how to get rid of this thing. It moves so fast and hides in the rock. I have only seen it 2 times in the last week and it was in different places each time so I have no clue if it has made an offiical home yet. I just do not want to start stocking with hermit crabs and fish and stuff and have this thing get big and destroy my tank and the marine life that I am going to ty so hard to keep. What sould I do??

Old 01-24-2009, 12:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via AIM to HoCkEyGmC
set a trap of course! =D get a tall glass and put in a raw cocktail shrimp (ur in the cycle so this will be fine, beneficial for the cycle actually). tilt it up next to the rock and leave it there until you catch him, then if you have a refugium, you can put him in there or you can just try and give it to the lfs or give it to someone else with a refugium.
Good Luck!

Old 01-24-2009, 02:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist