Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-05-2013, 05:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I know, I know, it's a great phosphate remover. And it's fairly cheap and available everywhere.

But it is a freaking mess. Stains everything it touches, clumps up if calcium is high in days and can't be effectively tumbled. At least I cant get it to work for any length of time. It either clumps or grinds out brown colored rusty water over just a few days. In the sump it turns into a brick in little time. I am going to try to not use it. I used the BRS two chamber reactor and the GFO would stop tumbling after only a few days.

My system with the algae scrubber and skimmers keeps phosphates at about .5ppm. I now use a pair of Lifegard fluidized sand filters adapted to hold Purigen (nitrate) in one and now Phosgard (phoshate, silica) in the other to replace GFO, to reduce organics even more. The Purigen tumbles great and the Phosgard beads also tumble clean. I have particulate filters on the output to catch any tiny pieces shed. I shoot for phosphates to be under .05 ppm, so we will see.

Current levels are .04 ppm phosphate and .018 ppm nitrate or 18 ppb. Hanna measurements.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 06:04 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,551
Keep us posted. I've considered this switch before.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
no refugium greg? i have no issues with my PO4 but i test with a redsea max PO4 kit so i don't know how accurate those are
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I've got 100 gallons in refugium and algae scrubber. I have a lot of well fed fish and a 110% coral coverage. Big bio load, so the system does its best. Threw away about 2 pounds of algae this afternoon. The reactors are to polish my water that last little bit that throws your water into coral nirvana.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:01 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
I have to adjust mine every few days in my phosban reactor to keep it from clumping. I am not 100% positive but i dont think the purigen is supposed to tumble only the GFO. I like running separate reactors because they require different flow rates. I seem to have found my sweet spot on flow using the HC GFO it tumbles easier because you use less
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 02:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavass View Post
I have to adjust mine every few days in my phosban reactor to keep it from clumping. I am not 100% positive but i dont think the purigen is supposed to tumble only the GFO. I like running separate reactors because they require different flow rates. I seem to have found my sweet spot on flow using the HC GFO it tumbles easier because you use less
Purigen tumbles fine.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 03:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Just make sure its not breaking up! That can cause problems in tank
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 04:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I have a post filter that catches any fragments. It doesn't seem to cause any problems even if some gets out. None of my corals seem bothered by it when I tested this theory. The fluidized filter seems to be very gentle with the stuff.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:35 PM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,551
So far Greg, phosguard has addressed all of my issues. How are your beads?
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 04:03 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I ditched the beads. The carbon source set off a round of cyano. I stopped running them and the cyano is dying back again. Trying Phosguard now. I feed heavily, so keeping phosphate below .1ppm is difficult.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.