Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2014, 03:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sansouci01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 708
Just another phase???

My 20 gallon reef tank has been up and running for about 8 months. I've gone through all the new tank fun things like diatoms. That went away and the sand cleared up nicely. Then, I had a real problem with bryopsis. Finally got that under control and the tank really started to look nice. Now, I am starting to see a greenish kind of diatom looking algae on the sand again. Any ideas or is this another phase?
__________________

__________________
sansouci01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 01:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Sounds like cyano.
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 02:05 PM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,537
Sounds like cyano and pointing at a long standing nutrient issue in your tank since you've battled hair algae and now cyano.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 02:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Leetch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
What do you have in your tank. What are your water Params, lighting schedule, etc. What does your cuc consist of? How often and how large are your water changes?

Sounds like something is going on causing bacteria and algae blooms.
__________________
Leetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 05:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sansouci01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 708
Here's my info....I have virtually no bioload

1- Chromis
1- Serpent star
1-Peppermint shrimp
1- black spiny urchin
Handful of hermits and snails

0-amonia
0-nitrites
0- nitrates( of course that must be wrong because according to most posts on here it's IMPOSSIBLE to have no nitrates)
0-phosphates ( of course that's wrong too because according to most posts on here it's IMPOSSIBLE to have 0 phosphates)

calcium- 420
magnesium-1500 ( getting it back down after battling and WINNING my fight against bryopsis with TECH-M.
Alk-10.8
PH-8.1

I do 25% water changes every two weeks with water I make using ro/di from my filter...TDS out of the filter is 0 ( must be wrong because according to most of the posts on here it's IMPOSSIBLE to have 0 TDS)

My lighting is 4- T5 bulbs running 9 hours a day. 3 actinic and 1 50/50

Forgive me for sounding a little harsh but it can get REALLY confusing getting advice from sites like this. EVERYONE has a different answer or opinion
__________________
sansouci01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 07:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Leetch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
I'm not seeing anything that would cause cyano unless the ro/di you are using is tainted somehow. But then I'd expect to see that in your water parameters.

I run a heavy duty protein skimmer that pretty much keeps my nitrates at or close to zero so it's not impossible. It's so low that many kits can't detect it. The more expensive kits can however read them but then again, if they are that low you shouldn't be getting cyano.

Bring your water to your lfs and have them test to be sure you are getting accurate readings.

Maybe try a different source for your water and watch your feedings. It could also be something in your salt mix but I wouldn't change everything at once. Deal with each piece a few days at a time to see if it gets better. If it doesn't fix it, move on to the next piece.

I would get the water tested at your lfs though just to be sure. Most will do it for free and hopefully they don't just use those crummy single sticks that can't read anything.

Good luck!
__________________
Leetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 07:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
If you have enough algae / cyano it can cause you to test much lower than your actual levels. I agree with Hank, it sounds like you've had excess nutrients in your system for a while now. Just out of curiosity what test kits are you using?
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 08:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sansouci01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 708
I'm using red sea to test my mag,alk, and cal...API to test ammonia,nitrite,nitrate, phosphate. Here's a picture and yes, that is the actual color. My phone actually took an accurate color photo for once..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cyno.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	238880  
__________________
sansouci01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 09:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aadair22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ocala, Fl.
Posts: 507
I personally don't see any cyano? Get a Red Sea nitrate test kit.. Api can be very off with the nitrates
__________________
I'm gonna go do a water change
aadair22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 10:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Leetch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Hmmm I'm not sure that's cyano. That does look like bacteria though. I'd still get a second test on you water to verify your parameters.
__________________

__________________
Leetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phase II SparKy697 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 07-09-2009 11:20 PM
How long can nitrite phase last? Lady Cougrrr Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 04-20-2009 07:11 PM
120g Dovii Growout - Phase 2 Mudfrog Show Off/Photography 11 09-24-2008 08:51 AM
You convinced me to do it, now you gotta help me. 46bow reef planning phase neilanh Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 60 06-11-2008 04:20 PM
New 29 Gal Tank-phase II adelinamz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 03-19-2006 04:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.