Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2003, 04:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
Just got my RO/DI

Yay,
Just got my first RO/DI unit (5 stage). My question is how do I know when it is time for new filters and where can I find them? This unit I found on ebay, due to not having deep pockets, and the place the seller got it from is no longer in business to get any supplies from. Also I've heard much about an RO membrane. How often do you need a new one of those? Seller stated that it hasn't been used much though I thought the filter in the first stage looked pretty dirty. Maybe I'll test water first thing to see how it is doing.
__________________

__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 08:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
is your system used? if it is i would buy a dts tester at the hardware store or on ebay for about 25.00 bucks asap. you'll probably need to change it right away.

Quote:
Just got my first RO/DI unit (5 stage).
are you sure you got the DI part, i have a 5-stage also from aquasafe canada (ebay also) but it is only a ro unit.


Quote:
My question is how do I know when it is time for new filters and where can I find them?
i would use the tester to know for sure the instructions should come with parameters. as for finding new membranes you can call your local hardware store or plumbing/water purifying "store" and they should have the standard sizes for the RO membrane and the charcoal membranes.

hth

mark
__________________

__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 12:29 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
www.aquariumwaterfilters.com can sell you replacment membranes. I have used their membranes in the RO unit I got off ebay a few years ago with no problems what so ever. In fact I really should order another set of carbon/sediment cartrages as the ones I got last year about this time should be replaced.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 12:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
well the seller advertised it as an ro/di unit. How do you tell the difference? Sounds like I can get most things I need via hardware store. the three other filters look brand new, the first one just looks dirty, but I'm inexperienced with these systems. Haven't got it up and running yet due to space issues, but will hopefully give it a test soon. Oh and yes it is used. Seller claimed she had it for a year, but hardly used it, thus decided to get rid of it. But I don't really know how much it was actually used.
__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 12:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 273
Where do you live in Utah??? There is a LFS in bountiful called Bird World that has a large supply of membranes, filers, cartridges. ect. You might want to give them a try..
__________________
Act on your impulses.. You'll feel good now & it will give you something to regret later!!
reefobsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 01:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
take a look at this
http://cgi.ebay/ws/ebayISAPI.dll?Vie...catagory=20684

this a ro only unit this is a five stage system that i have

HTH
mark
__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 01:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
i'm not sure if the site i put in works, sorry if it doesnt. the point is you'll still have great water without the DI part. you can always buy one later and hook it up.

HTH

mark
__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 01:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
Hey ohio your link didn't work. Either way I got a heck of a deal so I'm don't feel ripped off if it is just an RO unit. Also thanks for the LFS reccomendation reefobsessed. I'm in Brigham City, my favorite LFS got put out of business thanks to the evil Pet's mart. Also there is a place in Ogden called Aquatic Dreams. I've been very impressed with them. I don't think they stock RO filters but they are the type of people who will do what they can to get what you need. Right now they are working on getting me a pair of mated perculas. Said he would make sure they were mated before he called me, and he prefers to hold all fish for at least a week to make sure they are healthy. You may want to check them out sometime if your in the area.
__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 02:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
ok, did a little research. I'm 99% sure this unit has DI. The last canister contains a cartridge that is full of some grainy/sandy grose looking stuff, not at all like the other filters through the rest of the system. Looked very much like the DI addon advertised on liveaquaria.com. Thanks for all your help guys. 8)
__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 02:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 440
ohio reefer, you just left off the .com in cgi.ebay.com ...if you manually re-enter the .com, it will work. =]
__________________

__________________
dansemacabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.