Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-07-2005, 08:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to chabooky386
just put in a mushroom in my tank...

i didnt accmilate it i just put it in my tank and my mushroon hasn't seem to bloom fully...

help?
__________________

__________________
chabooky386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 08:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 329
it should be fine as long as you at least floated it, but I have put coral right in my tank and they all lived. But I have seen shrooms melt when I changed upgraded my lights.
__________________

__________________
CBRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 09:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
Portabello or toadstool? anyways, even if you had acclimated it would still take a day or so to open fully. Plus it has to get used to the difference in lighting systems . Give it time and it will prob be fine. Maybe put it at the bottom of the tank for a few days then slowly move it up to where you want it to be.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 09:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Yah, you really need to read up on acclimation proceedures. Mushrooms are pretty hardy so I would give it a few days to adjust.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 11:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
Interesting experiment....
__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 11:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
I was given a single small shroom. I put it in the tank, and it shrunk down no bigger than the end of your pinky. I lost it at one time. Anyway it went through a bunch of crap, and now it has multiplied to about 20+ and still going. Shrooms are pretty tough IME.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 12:05 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
All my shrooms looked great after a day or two....except when they get too much light

I used to acclimate all my coral but now just float the bag for 20 minutes then release....haven't lost a coral yet in probably 20 times of doing this.
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 12:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Charles Il
Posts: 231
I have to agree, the LFS I buy most of my livestock from keeps his water parameters almost identical to mine, or should I say mine to his...whatever. I just float and drop. And those mushrooms are so hardy, you can take em out of the tank, cut them up like a pie and drop the mush back in. 2 weeks later you've got 8 shrooms growing, and the stalk is growing back too. I love em.
__________________
Long Live DIY
55 gal reef
45 gal turtle/fish tank
75 gal planted/cichlid tank
PatM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 07:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to chabooky386
how would u cut them up?
__________________
chabooky386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 08:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
Exactly like a pizza with a part of the center mouth on each piece. I would go for 4 pieces not eight. You use tissue scissors or an exacto knife. www.garf.org shows how to propagate many different kinds of corals this way.
__________________

__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mushroom, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make a mushroom stay put?? ChrisAre Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-28-2009 08:50 PM
sea-horses in mushroom tank? sw-addict Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-01-2004 03:12 PM
Another tank and what should I put in it? HOLLIEO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 08-15-2003 04:29 PM
So now I got this tank....what to put in it? smooth_rivers Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-27-2003 12:25 AM
What to put in my new tank minx Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 25 01-19-2003 07:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.