Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-06-2009, 06:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
i dont think it is becase he said that is two 65 w cfs but i might be wrong
__________________

__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
that fixture is two 65w cfs
__________________

__________________
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:47 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
oh ok my bad i just saw 4 bulbs and i got confused my bad
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:15 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 10
This is the bulb Satellite Dual 65W Compact Fluorescent Lighting Current USA Satellite 30 inch Power Compact Light

What do you guys think?
__________________
sebastio12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:48 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
That should give you about 4Watt per gallon. You would be fine with that. You may have some issues trying to keep SPS or clams, but everything else should be fine with that much light
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 03:58 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 10
Hey guys, I think I'm buying an AquaC remora protein skimmer? I was stuck between that and a Coralife super skimmer, the remora's twice the price but I want something I can use later on when I upgrade tanks. Is this a good choice?

Also, is the Koralite nano a good powerhead, or should I go with the Koralite 1?
__________________
sebastio12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 04:01 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
ill go with the 1,also i heard that octopus is a good kind too and not a bad prize for wat its worth
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 11:31 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastio12 View Post
Hey guys, I think I'm buying an AquaC remora protein skimmer? I was stuck between that and a Coralife super skimmer, the remora's twice the price but I want something I can use later on when I upgrade tanks. Is this a good choice?

If you plan on upgrading the tank, plan on a larger skimmer for that tank. If you have a 30G now and plan on getting a 55, or whatever else, in the future, get a skimmer that will handle that. I don't think it's possible to overskim.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 11:37 AM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Tell us what the water readings are. Can't just say "normal" and hope to figure out if anything is wrong and killing shrimp or fish.

P.S. Got a suspicion your nitrate readings are higher then optimal. Even though the tank was "established", may have stirred up some ammonia during the move. Again, take the readings and let us know.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 11:16 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 10
Hey guys, I've been gone for a while, I even had to leave my tank behind cause we 'evacuated' for Ida. I will have to check my tank's levels, but I'm changing the substrate out soon, so I'll check it when this is done.
__________________

__________________
sebastio12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, starting, starting off

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting up and looking for some advice Skellz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 02-11-2010 07:16 PM
starting over - need advice sooju Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 06-30-2009 06:50 PM
advice on starting out please? toshi-chan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 01-07-2006 01:47 PM
Starting up again, Advice Please. :) Vanphyre Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 12-16-2005 12:56 AM
Starting over....Advice nycfatcow Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 10-04-2005 05:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.