Kalk dosing question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JohnNLuc

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys I'm pretty new to this hobby so bare with me please. I have a 46G bow and now that i've been adding a few hardy corals I think its time to start dripping kalk but have a few questions. I've got down the 1 teaspoon for every gallon of RO/DI and the 1 drip per second to start with than onto trial and error as how fast i should add it but my questions is should the kalk I drip make up for all my evaporated water daily?

What you need to do is make sure the ca and alk are at the same level, and you need to balance them before you add any additives. I wouldnt recommend kalk, buts thats my humble opinion. I use warner marines calxmax, its alot more easier and safer than kalk. You can also use c-balance or bionic. My calxmax comes with 2 part additives (Obviously one is alk and the other is ca) and I just dose it according to my consumption of what the corals take in, so you will need ca and alk tests :wink: The reason why I get calxmax is cuz im too lazy to drip it into my system, and if not dripped right, or something goes wrong with the dripping system, you tank could crash. The reason why you have to drip it is because, kalk has a PH of 12 and if added wrongly it will mess up your system, so beware! :D

Thanks a lot. Before adding the corals my CA levels were constant due to my water changes (every two weeks) with oceanic salt but with the addition of corals I am slowly seeing my levels drop which is why I purchased mrs. wages pickling lime. I do understand that this must be done very slowly and have also heard that it should be done at night when your ph is at its lowest i was just wondering what others do. As well as should the kalk makeup ALL of my evaporated water daily?

JohnNLuc said: