Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-30-2007, 03:32 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Kalk Reactor/Kalkwasser top off

Hello everyone!

I'm looking into either using kalwasser as my top off water or just adding a Kalk Reactor to my tank. I'm not ready to add a calcium reactor yet just because I don't have room for one at the moment. I'm adding a 55g prop/gow tank to my system and when I do I will have addittional room under that cabinet for a CA reactor but that project is still a little ways off. I need to do something to increase my CA levels as they are starting to get down in the low 300s and I like it better when they are aroudn 400-420. My SPS corals have grown to the point and I have enough of them in there to warrant adding CA to the system.

I'm looking for thoughts and experience with KALK and if you have a reactor some pics of it on your setup would be great!

Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 04:07 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
There is an old pic I posted in another thread http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=102698 where you can see my DIY kalk dripper...lol. Basically it's a 2 gal jug with a spigot. I used Mrs Wages pickling lime with ro/di for my top off. I did that for a year or so, but it was a royal pain. If your ca demand is high, just dripping kalk as your top off may not keep it. It didn't for me. Kalk will only maintain ca and alk to a certain degree. You may have a higher demand that it can provide. I find it much easier to just dose Randy's 2 Part. I dose alk in the AM and ca in the PM. I found this method much easier, plus I can control the dosage depending on demand.
__________________

__________________
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 04:16 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I'm not crazy about all the different things you can use to "dose" your tank with. I'm not crazy about the Kalk either. I would rather put a CA Reactor on the system right now and be done with it.

I just tested my CA levels about 15 minutes ago and I got 420. I did a PWC a couple of days ago so they should be fairly high right now.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 05:10 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
I'm not crazy about all the different things you can use to "dose" your tank with. I'm not crazy about the Kalk either.
hmmmmm...what was your question?
oh yeah
Quote:
I'm looking for thoughts and experience with KALK and if you have a reactor some pics of it on your setup would be great!
Ca reactor is the way to go, if you can justify the start up costs. A years supply of 2-part cost me maybe $50 (including the mag sup.). If you have a high ca demand tank, get used to dosing. A ca reactor will keep up with ca and alk demand, but don't forget about mag. No way to keep those levels up without dosing if you have such high demand that you need a ca reactor.
__________________
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 02:00 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I use 2 part. Ca reactor is too complicated for me. I put some kalk in my top off water and add 2 part when needed. I also use salt that is high in Ca.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 08:11 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
I too have been adding Kalk to my top-off water and dosing for CA/Alk when necessary. Since I perform a PWC weekly I rarely need to dose the CA/Alk.
__________________

__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ca reactor, kalk reactor, or drip kalk? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-17-2005 12:04 AM
kalk reactor on tank water fourstate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-02-2005 10:21 AM
Kalk Reactor Advice "Rephrased Calcium Reactor" cj10488 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-24-2004 01:34 AM
Kalk/Ca Reactor...same? dansemacabre Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-31-2003 12:18 AM
kalk reactor: which one? pomme Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 12-02-2003 05:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.