Kalkwasser or Oceansblend????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rgmatzke

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been reading allot about the Oceansblend products to maintain proper levels and Kalkwasser, but don't know which one to go with. Thanks for any replies.

I use kalk, although I am not familiar with Ocean's Blend, I have tried various products over the years and I always come back to kalk.

I use Ocean's Blend and have not seen any adverse effects. My parameters do not sway. I have been using it for 3 months now.. I was turned onto it by my LFS because it contains all additives that are pertinant, in one easy dose per day. I have a 55 gal and I put 15ml each of part A and part B. that is it, there ain't no more. I put it in when I wake up and don't worry about anything until the next morning. I do a 5% water change every 2 weeks. I hear and read too many horror stories about using Kalk and having Alkalinity problems. or vice versa.

I have not gone through that Oceans Blend.

Just to spark up the info a bit, here is the excerpt from their site.

Ocean's Blend is the closest trace element additive to the natural ocean's elements that you can buy. Ocean's Blend is designed to give you over 70 total trace elements. We feel that the additives you add to your reef aquarium should be as close to Mother Nature as possible. Why? The closer you make your reef tank to the ocean the better growth and diverse your aquarium will be.

Ocean's Blend helps combat algae by containing no nitrates or phosphates, precipitating phosphates, having a low iron content, and using Reverse Osmosis / Double Deionized water.

Full additive: No other additives are needed, maintains alkalinity between 3.0 meg/L and 4.0 meg/L, maintains calcium levels between 400 ppm and 450ppm, and has a high magnesium level.