Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-06-2011, 06:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
So would a reactor help it so what kind
__________________

__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 06:49 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
Should I use a phosphate reactor or nitrate one ????
__________________

__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 02:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
Plz need advice or is a mecancial filter the way to go???
__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
you need to find the source of your problem. have you tested the water you're using for water changes its possible the source is coming from wherever you're gettign your water from possibly need new RO filters if you're using RO water, if you're using tap water you might want to consider using RO or distiilled
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:51 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Pschmitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 250
I had the same issue with GHA. Stopped testing for PO4 because it always read low and still algae. Since almost everything that you put in has amounts of phosphates I went with a reactor and just keep it running all the time. A lot of people probably are saying it's a waste, but has worked for me and it's def a safety net.
__________________
Pschmitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:54 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
I use ro already I brought a tds tester to so can check the shops water
__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:54 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
As someone who had a long battle with cyano, I can tell you what worked best for me was physical removal of the algae using a siphon combined with increased circulation DON'T scrub it and then siphon as that will likely cause it to spread. Be sure to use only RODI water for you water changes and top offs.

I have never used a reactor, but I have used different media to absorb phosphates. As I understand it, rectors really just direct or force the water through the media. I think there are several people on this board who use the ones made by Bulk Reef Supply.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:56 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
But if my phosphates are undetectable surely they must be low I gonna buy something Friday to sort it but what's my best thing to buy ????
__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 04:02 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
the algae is sucking up all the PO4 and NO3 from the water, that is what they feed on. cyano also feeds on low oxygen, it will grow if the water isn't aerated enough as it help oxygenate the water.
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 04:03 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
So what would u invest money in
__________________

__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, hair, hair algae, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red hair algae causing snail death? Hutchball Saltwater Reef Aquaria 36 06-27-2012 03:32 PM
Hair algae?? senemedar Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 18 10-28-2011 08:30 AM
Letting Green Hair Algae Alone? Blakskall Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 08-14-2011 06:41 PM
Amano Shrimp Not Eating Hair Algae electro_cute Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-10-2011 12:15 AM
Hair algae? I think it is? sholi Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-20-2011 08:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.