Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-12-2012, 03:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Leaking tank!!

So today I realized my 10gl QT was leaking! Unfortunately I put a post here last week about salt creek in wired places and I guess no one knew so this one I learned the hard way! Now my question.... I was only cycling my QT, ammonia had just gone to 0 yesterday! Now that I replaced the tank will I need to cycle again? I moved all the water, didn't have to make up any. Is this going to set my QT cycle back? Or should I try and cycle it again?
__________________

__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:55 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
The water doesn't gave BB in it. Were you using a hob filter on the one that leaked? Did you move that over? And was that filter out of water for long? If you moved the filter over, the filter should have BB. but if the filter went a period of time without water in it, at least some of the BB would have died off. Only way to know for sure would be to add ammonia source and see if it breaks it down into nitrates. The quickest way would be to add a small amount of liquid ammonia, then you don't have to wait for a shrimp to rot. But only use the ammonia that does NOT bubble when you shake it. I've only been able to find it at ACE hardware. Hope it's still cycled for you!
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beengirl
The water doesn't gave BB in it. Were you using a hob filter on the one that leaked? Did you move that over? And was that filter out of water for long? If you moved the filter over, the filter should have BB. but if the filter went a period of time without water in it, at least some of the BB would have died off. Only way to know for sure would be to add ammonia source and see if it breaks it down into nitrates. The quickest way would be to add a small amount of liquid ammonia, then you don't have to wait for a shrimp to rot. But only use the ammonia that does NOT bubble when you shake it. I've only been able to find it at ACE hardware. Hope it's still cycled for you!
It was still up and running when I changed it over I was only loosing about 1/2 oz an hour. My ammonia peeked at 4.0 a few days ago, so I'm nervous a new tank with clean glass will need to cycle again. My folder is the one with the bio wheel, bought it specially for holding the bacteria in the wheel. Proven to be a good little filter so far! Guess ill check parameters tomorrow and we where I'm at. Good thing I'm organized and have a chart!!!
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
leaking, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.