Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2012, 11:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
alink708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oak Lawn , IL
Posts: 181
LEAKS!! What do I do now???

Was doing paperwork a few hours ago...look over at the tank to see a big puddle
Found the leak.... at the bottom of course, ran to HD and got some water weld because nothing I had here would work. Stopped the leak...another sprung up on the other side....7 leak fixes later I think its under control for the time being
but now I have white putty on the tank which sucks.
Its a biocube14 .... all the leaks were around the bottom where the plastic meets the glass.
re-sealed everywhere else that was still dry with silicone.
Where do I go with this now now, any advice?
__________________

__________________
alink708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
alink708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oak Lawn , IL
Posts: 181
spoke too soon.... the whole bottom of the back glass started also...stopped it all for now
__________________

__________________
alink708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:42 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Your not going to like what I say but , my opinion is to tear the tank down and remove all of the old silicone and redo it with new silicone . Just my .02
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
alink708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oak Lawn , IL
Posts: 181
I might have to.... got most of it to stop, theres a small trickle from the water level viewer now.
Man I wouldnt even know where to start tearing it down... what do you do with everything?
__________________
alink708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:49 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ryleyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by alink708
I might have to.... got most of it to stop, theres a small trickle from the water level viewer now.
Man I wouldnt even know where to start tearing it down... what do you do with everything?
Buy a new tank
__________________
Ryleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
alink708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oak Lawn , IL
Posts: 181
Yea im probably going to go grab a new one tomorrow.
How do I go about transfering everything?
Im not going to have to cycle the new one right? Since I will be using all my established stuff and water...??
__________________
alink708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:17 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
I know it's gonna be a pain in the a$$, but luckily it's not a huge tank and can be done relatively easy. Relatively.... Lol. First of all...setup your qt tank for the fish to have a place to chill while this is taking place and get them in there.

Go out and get a food grade plastic container. 20 or 25g if you can find it.

This is how i did it anyway.....
Siphon out half the water into your new container. Start the painstaking process of removing the rock and place it in new container. Throw in a couple powerheads and Ur heater, then siphon a bit of water in the new tank (enuf for substrate to be submerged ) and start scooping the sand over to the new system.

I wud fill it up half way and let the cloud settle and then test for ammonia and trates.

If your good, proceed with transferring everything else. I would wait until the next morning and test again before transferring the fish to the new tank tho.

Sounds a lot more confusing then it really is. I probably could have worded it a bit better, but I'm hoping you get the idea!

Good luck!
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 06:46 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,348
Tmyboy's procedure sounds good. It's about what I did when upgrading from 29 to 55, and what I will do for my next upgrade. Just keep a real close eye on the ammonia and nitrite levels, as a new cycle is always possible when making a large change to a tank.
__________________
Someone stop me! Please! But... not just yet...
55 Gal Tropical FW
55 Gal Mixed Reef
MacDracor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
alink708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oak Lawn , IL
Posts: 181
Just got off the phone with the LFS .... getting a new one for 1/2 off , he's going to keep the lid which is good, at least I dont have to swap all my lights out,just swap lids! I love these guys!
__________________
alink708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
alink708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oak Lawn , IL
Posts: 181
Going to stop on the way and pick up some containers also. Thanks everyone I really appreciate it
__________________

__________________
alink708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Did You do With Your Tank Today? Terrance Aquaria Off-Topic 12375 Today 08:11 AM
How do you clean up an aquarium that is ruined by mineral deposits? EMBastyr DIY Projects 25 06-16-2012 06:39 PM
Can you identify what is on my plants? if so how do I get rid of it? iamkush Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 19 03-26-2012 10:22 PM
What can you put in an 8 Gallon tank? CherryBarb123 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 03-22-2012 04:43 AM
Where do i place my coral?? Hondachico Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 03-21-2012 11:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.