Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sstanle4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 262
leaky biocube!

My 14 gallon biocube has a leak at the top where the acrylic meets the black plastic. It's not that bad but I don't want it to get any worse. And I would really like to get it fixed. What can I do? Is there a type if sealant that's safe for my fish and inverts? Suggestions? Please and thank you
__________________

__________________
26 Gallon Bowfront. Clownfish. Six-line wrasse. Coral Beauty. 2 Chromis. Cleaner Shrimp. 2 Emerald Crab. CUC. || 36 Gallon Bowfront. Snowflake Clownfish. Six-line. Watchman Goby. Harptail Blenny. 4 Chromis. Cleaner Shrimp. 4 Emerald Crabs. CUC. || 29 Gallon. Pair of Snow Onyx Clownfish. Watchman Goby. Pistol Shrimp. Small CUC.
sstanle4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
GE Silicone I is what I use for everything.
__________________

__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
You can also use weld-on solvent (forget which exact solvent #). It's a plastic solvent that will fuse acrylic together in a short amount of time. It's completely inert and i use it on my diy reactors.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Marion, N.C.
Posts: 74
If you are going to use GE Silicone I, you need to rough the area before applying the silicone because it will just peel off once cured. I learned the hard way when I applied it to some plexiglass.
__________________
rdog348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sstanle4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 262
Do I put it on the inside or outside of the tank? And does it have to dry for an amount of time? (Will I have to turn the pump off for the water level to go down until it dries?)
__________________
26 Gallon Bowfront. Clownfish. Six-line wrasse. Coral Beauty. 2 Chromis. Cleaner Shrimp. 2 Emerald Crab. CUC. || 36 Gallon Bowfront. Snowflake Clownfish. Six-line. Watchman Goby. Harptail Blenny. 4 Chromis. Cleaner Shrimp. 4 Emerald Crabs. CUC. || 29 Gallon. Pair of Snow Onyx Clownfish. Watchman Goby. Pistol Shrimp. Small CUC.
sstanle4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstanle4
Do I put it on the inside or outside of the tank? And does it have to dry for an amount of time? (Will I have to turn the pump off for the water level to go down until it dries?)
Silicone needs a few days to cure. I usually go about 72 hrs before getting it wet. Shouldn't be a huge deal, just lower water levels.
__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 02:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Marion, N.C.
Posts: 74
Yeah, put a small bead on both the inside, and outside of the tank and lightly smooth it out to get air bubbles out and let it cure for a few days. To rough the area up, use a Scotch Brite, it doesn't have to be too roughed up.
__________________
rdog348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sharklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 395
I had a 20g with a giant crack in the back and scotch tape worked,so before spending a lot of money try tape first,easy cheap fix
__________________
Sharklover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Was the crack leaking???? I wouldn't really trust tape with 20 gallons of water lol.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sharklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 395
It was leaking until i taped it,as long as you smooth out the air bubbles and leave no spots for water to escape
__________________

__________________
Sharklover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, biocube, cube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.