Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2006, 11:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Lighting Troubles

I recently bought a 72" Orbit Power Compact Light for my fish tank. It has 3 light settings, 1 of which is lunar lights. If I plug the light (2 cords) directly into the wall, then the lunar lights will come on when I shut the switch off for the lights. But when I place the light on a timer, the lunar lights do not come on, mainly because I am cutting power to the light, not manually shutting it off.

Does anyone know how I can get my light on a timer but still utilize the lunar light at night time?
__________________

__________________
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 02:21 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I’m confused, I assume that the dual power cords are to separate the pc lights from the moonlights. Do you have both cords plugged into the same timer and have both of them going off at the same time? If so putting them on different timers should solve that problem. I assume it’s not that easy though since you said the moon lights come on when you switch off the other lights. I thought these units had 3 switches for controlling Day/Actinic/Moon lighting.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 03:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Ok,

it's got 2 switches and 2 powercords. Both cords are plugged into the same timer.

If I plug both cords directly into the wall (no timer) then I can turn on the first switch which turns on the florecent lights. The 2nd switch turns on the Actinic (sp?) lights. If I turn both switches off, then the Lunar lights will stay on and no other lights are on.

also,
I see alot of photos with tank that just have the Actinic lights on. Should I alternate the lights so that they come on one at a time or always turn thm both on?
__________________
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:11 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Sounds like one cord is for the pc lights and the other is for the moon lights. Have you tried just plugging the pc cord into the timer and leave the moon light plugged directly into the wall? It also sounds like the moon lights are on all the time (since you didn’t mention a switch for them) which shouldn’t affect your display and since they are led lights you shouldn’t have to ever replace them.

If you plug just one or the other cords with both switches on do the moon lights come on? If so then you can just put the other cord on the timer to turn your pc lighting on and off. I cycle mine from 9am to 9pm. If the moon lights are hardwired to only come on when the other two are off then it doesn’t sound like you will be able to use a timer and will just have to do it manually

The day/Actinic/moon lights are there to help simulate a full 24 hour lighting cycle. For example the actinic lights are used to simulate a morning/dusk type of light while the day would be on for around 6 hours to simulate daylight hours ie: from around 11am to 4pm. Lastly the moon lights are obviously designed to simulate moon light. (not trying to be smart, just fully explaining the purpose to those that might not understand)

Having said all that it really just depends on how you want to do it. If you are keeping corals than having just the actinic on during the day may not give them enough light but would be fine for a fo setup while having just the day or both of them on shouldn’t hurt inverts or fish.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Awesome,
Thanks for the help. I've got a FO tank right now, but I plan to turn it into a reef tank, but slowly.

Thanks again!
__________________
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:41 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Glad to help. Did it work?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 05:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
I'm at work right now, I'll post tomorrow when I try it tonight.
__________________
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
AWESOME.....

Works like a charm! Actually, there are 3 plugs......2 for each light and a 3rd for the fan and lunar lights......

Thanks again!
__________________
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 09:32 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Glad it worked Since you have 3 plugs you should be able to customize a nice morning/day/dusk/night cycle on individual timers. I just wouldn’t run the pc lights for more than a total of 12 hours or else you might get some algae issues.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 01:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
There should be 4 plugs. 2 for lights, one for moons and one for fans. At least that is how my satellite works and they are essentially the same. Either way glad it works for ya
__________________

__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ph troubles h2oguppie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 02-16-2009 11:42 PM
Having troubles philjac Cichlid Discussion 2 11-24-2008 01:34 PM
tank troubles SilverDragon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-12-2006 01:38 AM
troubles darlar76 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 5 05-09-2006 03:31 PM
Troubles with Lighting Andos99 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 05-18-2005 10:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.