Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2011, 01:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Lion fish

I am getting a 3 inch lion fish for my soon to be 180g FOWLR. I currently have a reef 90g. My question is this. My 180g will start cycling on the 23rd, and I need to still store the lion. I have 3 options. Put in QT (10g), put in 90g since he is only 3", or place in a fish holder box and place that in the 90g. Which would be the safest and easiest?
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 833
Well if you have inverts he will gobble those up. And obviously any smaller fish.
__________________

__________________
hiltymj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Yeah. Afraid of that. Right now the smallest is the 6-line and misbar clown. Everyone else is about 3-4"...
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
He will eat any inverts and fish that will fit in his mouth. Putting him in the 90 would be a very big gamble. Odds are if he wanted to eat something in there, he'd get it before you can get him out lol.
__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
I say qt him. Probably easier. And you can closely watch for eating or disease
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Good point. Both of you. So I'll put it in the 10g QT. Appreciate the advice. If he went in the 90, I'd basically put it on a fish holding cell. I just know my 90 is alot more established.
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
If at all possible, I'd take a piece of LR from your 90 and put it in the QT. Since he's gonna be in there for a while it'll prevent a cycle from happening and him dying. Unless you have a biowheel or something running on the 90. In that case disreguard the LR statement lol
__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 08:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallinCrew10
If at all possible, I'd take a piece of LR from your 90 and put it in the QT. Since he's gonna be in there for a while it'll prevent a cycle from happening and him dying. Unless you have a biowheel or something running on the 90. In that case disreguard the LR statement lol
My 90 has a 55g sump. The QT has a lil flurva filter. I guess I could add a LR.
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 08:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kio707

My 90 has a 55g sump. The QT has a lil flurva filter. I guess I could add a LR.
If the QT's filter is running on the 90 when you're not using the QT it can just be thrown on and the lion will be fine. If you're not using it and just put it on the QT it will cycle and he'll most likely die. Adding a piece of LR even for just a week or so will prevent a cycle and give the HOB filter time to grow bacteria. It will also make the lion a little more comfortable and give him a place to hide.
__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 08:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
Better idea, is there a fuge in that sump? If so put him in there. Or do you have rubble in the sump? You could add the rubble to the QT so you don't have to tear you aquascaping apart. Just throwing ideas around.
__________________

__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lion fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Made You Want A Freshwater Aquarium? fishfreek Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1217 11-24-2017 09:40 PM
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 09:41 AM
who said you can't have clowns with a lion fish?? standridge32 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 14 01-18-2012 04:56 PM
:/ whats that?? White Spot on Lion Fish Erikmichael23 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 10-20-2011 06:33 PM
thoughts on fish vs. tank size..? McLean Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-20-2011 02:11 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.