Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-17-2007, 04:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 494
Live Rock while Re-aquascaping

Reaquascaping today and I've got a bunch of rock in big bins of water. It's going to take me probably all day to do what I have to do. Letting the sand settle, siphoning out the crud, adding my spraybar, etc. Is live rock okay in room temperature tap water for hours at a time? This is turning into a larger project than I thought and they're going to be sitting for a while. I had to lose pods or any beneficial bacteria.

- Skins
__________________

__________________
SkinnyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 05:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
I would use the tank water in the tubs and add a heater and powerhead to maintain temp ad circulation
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 11:23 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You need to store the LR in SW not FW. You`ll probably lose alot of your nitrifying bacteria. The rock will not be much live anymore. When you put it back in your tank it will have to grow back on the rock.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 12:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
You'll probably lose all the inverts/pods as well as bacteria if you are using FW.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 02:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 494
Wow, I totally typed "tap" water. I have no recollection of doing that - it was a complete mistake on my part, I MEANT to type TANK water. I'm reading these posts thinking - why do these people think I'm using FW? Then I re-read my stupid post.

Anyway, no it was tank water - not tap water. My only concern was that it cooled to room temperature for a couple-few hours before going back to the tank. I wasn't expecting it to take that long. I'm just hoping everything is fine.

I'll start previewing my posts before submitting from now on!
__________________
SkinnyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 05:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina
Posts: 558
you should be fine as long as you watch the temp. Have fun, I just moved a few of the top rocks around Thursday night. Didnt have the take everything out though, just stacked on other die of tank.
__________________
Any home mortgage questions feel free to ask. Thats what I do when I'm not tending to my tank!!
beachbumin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 10:51 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You should be OK as long as it was only a day or two. If it should be longer you`ll need to add an ammonia source.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 11:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 192
I read an article about the collection of LR in Fiji and the collectors will hold the LR in large vats and the rock is only in a constant spray of SW not submerged and is shipped out every 3 days or so . I would think 1 day shouldn't hurt . Here is a link to the article
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2005/10/aafeature1/view
__________________

__________________
kansei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, aquascaping, cap, live, live rock, rock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aquascaping live rock aquakid Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 11-23-2009 12:10 PM
Aquascaping & Live Rock questions DOLPH Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-15-2007 12:52 PM
Dead rock - Live rock - Cured rock - Uncured rock Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-08-2006 08:44 AM
aquascaping live rock in my tank dacaptain78 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-30-2005 12:02 PM
Aquascaping with rock darb2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-02-2004 06:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.