Live sand...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lonewolfblue

Aquarium Advice Addict
Is it a good idea to start with live sand, as well as the live rock? Or will your regular substrate become live over time and just not worry about it? Just curious, as if I decide to start a SW tank, would like to have as much knowlege as possible before starting. And if not all live sand, could you use regular substrate and put a layer of live sand over the top to keep the cost down a little? Thanks....

LR and/or LS is fine to start with. I've no experience with anything but the LS that comes from Petco. It worked with all 3 my tanks so I haven't tried anything else. I have read other posts where some people were able to get silicate free play sand from Home Depot or Lowes. According to others, this works fine. The 'Live' part of rock or sand is simply the micro organisims that live within the rock/sand. Therefore over time, using only LR, you will eventually end up with LS as well. You could seed the tank with a as little as a couple small pieces of rubble or as much LR as you want.

Peace.

I would say the answer to your question would rely on your ability to take things slow or not. I have started with live sand and without. I gave my without sand a long time to incubate before adding a complete load of creatures. I felt like I still had to wait but not as long with live sand. You are right though, by putting a slight layer of live sand over the other sand you should be able to speed up the process quicker.

Doug