Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-06-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
Loosing the Cyano battle......

I have been fighting tooth and nail against cyano for the past month. I have followed the 10 step nuisance algae guide and it has helped reduce it slightly, but it still comes and goes. I have thus far got away without having a sump/refugium but now I'm thinking it may be time to get one built and installed to help reduce nutrients in the system (chaeto). My question is, besides installing a sump, what other tricks could I try to get rid of it?

I already feed every other day and rinse the food in RO/DI water, I have reduced my lights to only 6 hours a day, I have added nassarius snails and a brittle star to try and get the sand bed moved around. I do bi weekly 25% water changes and I run a bak pak skimmer which does a great job.

Just in case its needed, here's my current params:
amm. 0
no2: 0
no3: 2.5
sg: 1.025
phos: 0.05
calc: 440
temp: 78 F
__________________

__________________
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krypt View Post
I have been fighting tooth and nail against cyano for the past month. I have followed the 10 step nuisance algae guide and it has helped reduce it slightly, but it still comes and goes. I have thus far got away without having a sump/refugium but now I'm thinking it may be time to get one built and installed to help reduce nutrients in the system (chaeto). My question is, besides installing a sump, what other tricks could I try to get rid of it?

I already feed every other day and rinse the food in RO/DI water, I have reduced my lights to only 6 hours a day, I have added nassarius snails and a brittle star to try and get the sand bed moved around. I do bi weekly 25% water changes and I run a bak pak skimmer which does a great job.

Just in case its needed, here's my current params:
amm. 0
no2: 0
no3: 2.5
sg: 1.025
phos: 0.05
calc: 440
temp: 78 F
Try testing your RO/DI water for phosphates and nitrates. Maybe the filter needs changing?
I had a cyano problem but it just went away once I cut down on the feeding. I just make sure that everyone gets 2-3 tiny pellets.
Matt
__________________

__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 03:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
I run a tests on my water change water before I add it to check for those and they come up with 0's across the board. Maybe I just need to suck it up and build the sump already.
__________________
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 03:08 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You've still got phosphates. Any reading isn't good. I'm not one for additives, but in the past, I've used this Red Slime Remover and did a water change. But I'm thinking it did come back if the problem wasn't fixed. You are finding phosphates in your test. Got to get it to zero.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 03:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
You can run some phosphate remover resin in a power filter to remove the phosphates but they will continue to come back from whatever way they are getting in. (Most likely the food). My pellet food says phosphate free, but I still have low levels of phosphates in my water. Thats why I feed every other day and just enough such that everyone gets just a couple bites.

Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 04:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
chemi-clean.
Boyd Enterprises Red Slime Chemi Clean Aquarium Bio Additives
i've used this multiple times on customers tanks and my own and it will remove the cyano without any adverse effects. the other slime remover is erythromycin, an antibiotic. this product claims it is not. ultimately, it's excess nutrients that causes cyano in my experience, but after you've done 10 water changes and are tired of waiting for it to go away, this stuff will remove it quickly.
i really don't think starving the fish is the answer. we have to face that we have closed systems and sometimes, even with oversized skimmers and upteen waterchanges, we can start to tip the scale between nutrient import and export.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 04:14 PM   #7
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Have you tried to add more flow?
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 05:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
I'll have to check out that cyano remover. As for flow, I run 2 Koralia 3's and 2 maxijet 1200's in my 55 gal tank. Definitely moving some water around lol. The 2 koralia's point toward the middle of the tank and the two maxi's point behind my rocks to get at the dead zones.
__________________
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 07:02 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Have you read our article on cyano in the SW articles section?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 07:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
Yeah I read through the article a couple weeks ago when I started to try and get a handle on things. Maybe I'll try making my own fish food instead of buying it to reduce any phosphates that are entering the system even after I rinse. In the mean time I'm going to reduce the amount of food I use per feeding (1 cube of mysis to 1/2 cube) and see how that works out.
__________________

__________________
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cyano

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help I'm loosing fish irishfishlady Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-10-2009 02:53 PM
Looks like I'm loosing my swordtail...need help! Rocket2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 6 09-11-2004 02:02 PM
My Continuous Battle with Green Cyano lmw80 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 01-03-2004 02:33 PM
Help me please! Loosing eyes~ ADCISCO Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 12-17-2003 05:17 PM
Loosing em mitche8359 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 03-05-2003 12:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.