Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-06-2007, 10:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump

Its been a while since i have posted on here. I had a huge power outage at my place and lost every fish and coral in my tank Who would think that power would be out for 6 days (we live in the city) and the house was down to 32 degrees at night. anyways, I have the tank up and going again and everything is looking good. As of now i have a Eheim filter that i just use for carbon because of all the live rock. Do any of you think that a refuge is worth going too. I have read on them a lot and sounds like a lot of fun. The tank is obviously not predrilled, so i would have to use overflows. I have heard that if you loose power that you will have a mess on your hand, is this true? Thanks, trying to get back into it and this sounds like a fun project. What is an estimated cost with building on?
Thanks,
Scott
sorry for the long post!
__________________

__________________
lower11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 260
I'd say a sump is always a plus for your tank, so I'd vote go for it. As far as a power outage making a mess, it'll only overflow if you set it up so that water continues to drain once the return pump stops pumping. Assuming you dont do that, and you shouldnt, then if the return stops, the whole system just stops.

You can either buy a pre-made sump/fuge for like $300+ or make your own for prolly more like $50-$100 depending on how big you go. All you really need is a tank, some glass panels for separators, and some aquarium sealant.

heres a link to a DIY sump
__________________

__________________
Agnate80700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Glad to hear you asre starting up again. I also suggest using a sump if you can. They have many great benefits.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
thank ya 2,

Agnate great post on diy sump. Looking forward too starting it now. It may take a little while but i will post pictures as i go.
__________________
lower11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 01:02 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree the sump is a great idea. The added water volume will help out alot. As far as a mess when the power cuts off it will only drain down to the top of the overflow.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
The issue is not drain back the issue is if your overflow looses prime when the pumps come back on. If it lost prime then it will not drain back to the sump and all the water in the sump gets pumped into the tank and overflows. Thats the problem as I have been told it by folks who use a over flow box. I vote for a sump/fuge... worth the money and as long as you keep the air build up out of the OF box it will work fine.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 07:44 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I'll add my voice for the Sump/fuge! I run a sump and a fuge seperately from one another (dual sump system) and I love having the extra water volume and the home for pods. I'm in the process of making a 5g pod breeder as a fuge that will be above my tank to help add pods to the tank.

Go with the fuge, the possibility of overflowing the tank can be taken care of. As for keeping your U'tubes going there are ways to do that (remove the air that is). Extra water volume is a very good thing!!!
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
Sump is good as well as a fuge. I am curious as to the filtration you currently use. Other than the carbon only cannister do you have any other filtration besides the LR? I ask because you had corals but didn't mention any other filtration such as a skimmer.
__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 11:03 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
I had two cannister filters when my tank was full. I had n eheim and a fluval. The eheim ran as a regular filter and the fluval was just for carbon. After my tank crashed i cleared it out and am only running the eheim filter which it does have some media but i change the carbon out monthly.
I have 3 green chromis in a 90 gal tank with 180 lbs of LR, didnt think i would need to much filtration right at this moment. + i do a 10% water change weekly. and run a hang on back seaclone skimmer, which needs to be replaced to something new.

Is this a good deal for a sump?

http://cincinnati.craigslist.org/for/359045590.html
__________________
lower11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 03:35 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
Alright i have a whole new game plan in effect. I ended up going to my lfs and bought a 90 gal predrilled with sump for $200. Great price! The sump does not have a skimmer, any recommendations. I will be setting it up next week and moving all the LR and LS to the new tank. I will add some pics when i get it. the tank was one of there floor models so its a little beat up but nothing some sanding wont take care of.
__________________

__________________
lower11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM
Anbody modified a Hang on Back Skimmer to work in a sump? lawdawg18 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-13-2004 05:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.