loud clicking sound

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

2revup

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have been meaning to ask this for sometime but always forgetting.

I have this very loud click sound going on at night mostly i have no idea what it is,
this list i have is:
fish list
1 blue tang
1 cleaner wrasse
3 blue/green chromies

invert
5 hermet crabs
2 turbo snalls
1 inka

Ann/corals
Purple tip
open brain
polyops

its not the hermys I can see them, it seems its comming from rock but i cant see the one i think its comming from i have trued torches but i cant see the critter. Any ideas?

Ive been reading that tangs can make a clicking noise...but I have no experience with them

Two words for you - pistol shrimp. See if you have substrate moved arround, they like to do this. If you have 'fresh' moved little piles of sand, you have a pistol shrimp. Don't worry, they are safe, get a shrimp goby to go with him, it will be cool to watch.

Use a flash light with a red lense to look at night. it doesn't bother things too much and you may be able to catch the clicker in action!

Agree with the others, it is probably a pistol or mantis shrimp in your tank. The pistol shrimp is fine but a mantis is dangerous unless it is by itself.

Aren't them the nasty little buggers that can give razor sharp cuts orr remove pinky fingers??!! I dont know if a mantis shrimp is the one that does this, but they had one in aa national geographic magazine that can do just that. I never thought shrimp could be dangerous!!

thanks for all the info i will try and spot the bugger somehow thanks again

from what I have seen and read, mantis don't burrow as much as a pistol. I have kept about a half dozen pistols over the years, and each and every one has made LOTs of burrows - every night.