Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-22-2004, 02:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via MSN to Homeplate
Low PH

I have a 55 gal that I have been running for about almost 9 months. I have been using Aquarium Pharmecuticals tests kit. But lately, I have had drop in PH to about 8. So I decided to purchase a Salifert KH/ALK test and a handheld Hanna PH meter. After I calibrated the PH meter, I have found that the PH was actually about 7.8 and that is after an 8 hour photoperiod. Wanted to see what you guys think next course of action for a noob reefer. Dose Kalk? Here is some more info on the tank.

KH = 9.3 dKH (salifert)
ALK= 3.31 meq/l (salifert)
ph= 7.8 (meter calibrated)
sal= 1.024
temp= 81
HOB Remora skimmer , maxijets: 2x1200 and 1x900
lighting= 2 x actinic, 2x10K, photoperiod 8 hours
water changes = 10% every 2 weeks using RO water
salt = oceanic
livestock= fire goby, yellow tang, 2 clownfish, royal basslet
soft corals= mushrooms, xenia, button polyps, a few zoos

I also have an emporer 400 and one of my powerheads is pointed at the surface for agitation. I do have a glass-top which I have read does hurt gas exchange. Any help is appreciated....

Old 08-22-2004, 02:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I would swap out the glass top for some eggcrate material. It's probably holding in too much CO2 which is causing the pH to stay low.

Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2004, 02:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I agree with Atari. Your other params look fine. Kalk can help stabilize your PH when lights are off.