Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2005, 09:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Feasterville Pa
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to msamsonz28
lr and sump

I don't have a sump yet but was wondering when you add one do you have to increase the amount of lr as well? ie 20g sump = 20+lbs lr? or does that only apply to display tank? i know it is a good idea to add lr rubble to the sump, but how much?
__________________

__________________
Matt
msamsonz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:08 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
No you do not have too.

I ran one for a good while with no added Lr.
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
I would only be concerned with adding more liverock if you are increasing the bioload as well. The water volume itself doesnt need the extra LR.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:37 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 510
The more live rock the better.

I had about 50lbs in a 20 H and I never had any problems.

I just set up my 71 and it already has 150lbs in the main and 25lbs in the sump.

when the tank is ready all the contents of the 20 are going over into the 72 so that will be another 50lbs making it 225 total. And I'll fill the sump with LR until no more will fit.


IMO, Live rock gives you a healthy System. Your rock will make you or break you.

If you don't want to pony up the cash for LR for the sump just get some base rock and put it down there, it will turn into live rock in a months time. Remember, all the little critters that live in the rock are just a added bonus, what you really want is the bacteria and that stuff reproduces like MAD until it can't sustain itself and then it will stay at a healthy level.......sooooooooooo the more LR or base rock the better.


Do you have to increase the amount of LR though? Nah you are okay.
__________________
Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Feasterville Pa
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to msamsonz28
well i actually don't have room for a sump at this point. my current stand will not fit one and i live in an apartment so i don't really have the extra room to set one on the side. i am going to add more lr in time though.
Jason I understand the more rock the better, but can't you get to a point where there isn't even room for fish to swim? I guess it takes ALOT of rock to get to that point...
__________________
Matt
msamsonz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 510
Quote:
Jason I understand the more rock the better, but can't you get to a point where there isn't even room for fish to swim? I guess it takes ALOT of rock to get to that point...
LOL yeah I guess so. I always forget that people put fish in there systems that have to swim around. I'm more on the coral side, not so much on the fish side.
__________________
Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:13 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Quote:
I always forget that people put fish in there systems that have to swim around.
Oh yea I forgot about that too Jason! Thanks for reminding me.... :P
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 05:46 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
You dont need it in your sump. When you say sump you`re talking about refuge,right. All I have in mine is live sand ,mud and Grape Calerpa. Have a good day
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.