Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2010, 10:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lbannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 465
macro algae in display tank?

I was wondering, since I don't have a sump or refugium, should I put some macro algae (such as chaeto) into my tank. I've been looking around and some people put it under a corner or the rock so it stays put. Since it will be in my tank is chaeto the best? Or what else? Or nothing? Thanks Guys!!
__________________

__________________
lbannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:03 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont know why you cant. I put some grape calerpa in my tank but the tangs eat it up within days.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 12:12 AM   #3
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
I used to.. but honestly, it gets so out of hand if you slack on pruning the algae. I had caulerpa and chaeto both in my display tank and the caulerpa grows at a pretty unbelievable rate IME and they attach themselves to anything including the sand bed. The chaetomorpha also will get out of hand if you have it in there without pruning, or very little pruning. The chaeto also seems to break apart really easily so it will eventually be EVERYWHERE in your display tank. I had pieces of chaeto on my rockwork, sandbed, powerheads, coral, and pretty much everything. If you like that sortof greenish look then i say go for it.. but i found it to be pretty ugly.

If however you do choose to put it in the display, you can just rubberband a nice wad of it to a rock and then just place it wherever you feel necessary. Just make sure light is getting to it otherwise it won't grow, obviously.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, macro, macro algae, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macro algae in nano tank? fishcrack Nano Reefs 9 05-22-2008 01:44 AM
Which Macro-Algae?? Charlie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-29-2007 07:53 AM
Safe to put macro algae in main tank? Squado Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 07-27-2006 07:07 PM
Macro Algae Wanted To Buy...(Update on Ducky's Algae!) revhtree Archive 25 03-26-2005 06:56 PM
Macro Algae? Reefaddict Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 02-26-2004 06:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.