Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2015, 04:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
Macro algae vs phosphate reactor

I am weighing up the options of either getting a phosphate reactor or macro algae to grow in my sump. Anyone have experience in which one is more effective?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 05:47 PM   #2
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,527
i use a lot of macros in my predator tank but they also need lots of attention trimming and such , they help cut down phosphates but there's always a detectable amount
I find phosban to work best in my main tank , if you don't mind the extra work macro's will work but need constant attention as they grow fast , macro's are also a good way of telling if your water chemistry is out of whack , so it can be corrected
but if your new to sw I would recommend a reactor over macro
once you get more comfortable than take on the macro challenge

this is a macro tank I had a while back before I upgraded
lots of work and constant attention helps for a healthy macro tank
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 07:32 PM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,542
I use both. When things decompose, they break down into nitrates and phosphates. It is about a 16:1 ratio. The macros will manage the nitrates mostly. In my tank, the phosphates were the issue that algae just wasn't managing well enough...well, it was just in my display where I didn't want it! So, I use products like GFO or Phosguard to directly impact the phosphates along with macro algae.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 04:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,323
+1


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 05:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
Brilliant thanks for the advise looks like I may have to get both then....


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
I use both. When things decompose, they break down into nitrates and phosphates. It is about a 16:1 ratio. The macros will manage the nitrates mostly. In my tank, the phosphates were the issue that algae just wasn't managing well enough...well, it was just in my display where I didn't want it! So, I use products like GFO or Phosguard to directly impact the phosphates along with macro algae.
I assume you use those in a reactor. I want a reactor, but it's slightly further down the list on my "things to get", I have been putting phosguard in media bags and put it in my sump, in a high flow area. Not as good as a reactor, but I hear can still be effective, I may need more as I only see a very minute impact.
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,323
Because of clumping, I have given up on reactors and have made a space in my sump that holds phosgard.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregcoyote View Post
Because of clumping, I have given up on reactors and have made a space in my sump that holds phosgard.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Is that bagged in flow in the sump? Have many people got macro algae? I don't mind putting the time in as long as it is effective at the minute I use a small canister filter with a bag of rowaphos in it for my 20G but looking at a better solution for my 80G


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:50 PM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,542
Technically, all of us have macro algae. Even hair algae is a macro algae. It is just what we like to look at and what we look at as a pest. In the end, it is all utilizing it for benefit.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 08:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,323
I built a little box to make a bed of phosgard. The flow fills that box and a part of it goes thru the bed. I stir the bed up once a week.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, ate, macro, macro algae, phosphate, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphate media reactor vs algae scrubber Nick862 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 01-19-2015 07:20 PM
Wanted: Uv sterilizer, phosphate reactor, and carbon reactor SteveFishman Archive 4 10-18-2011 01:52 AM
Phosphate Reactor Size? baldyguy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-13-2009 07:13 PM
Phosphate Reactor??? mmmmmm baldyguy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 01-07-2009 06:59 PM
Phosphate reactor vs Fluval 405 Phos media? Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 01-06-2009 06:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.