Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-28-2006, 10:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Mag pump users..

I have a return pump (Mag 12) for my 100 gallon. Its been up and running now for 3 years. I have never cleaned it. I cleaned it between the 1st and 2nd year it was in use. However when I went from a 125 tank to the 100 now, I hard didnt think for the future and basically put all of the hard PVC in and now there is no disconnect without cutting and splicing the PVC...which is what I plan on doing soon.
However, when would you guys suggest I replace the Mag? Its 4 years old and running well. Still alot of push so do I wait until it goes out? Do I change it now?
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 11:03 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Use it till it stops or starts declining in production, but it would be wise to always have a backup handy
__________________

__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 11:15 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I totally agree that a backup would be nice for those unexpected emergencies.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:16 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
A back up Mag 12 will run you $105 on bestnest.com with free shipping which is where I bought my Mag 9.5. Great prices and service and the pump shipped to my house in 2 days and came with the pre-filter.

IME they run forever and is the best pump I have owned. Still I clean them out once a year though.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 11:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Well I have a Mag 18 that has never been out of the box under my bed. Its a bit overkill for a 100 gallon tank but I will make it work. I have a LFS that said they will trade me a Mag 12 for my Mag 18 and call it even. I dont know if I want to do this or not.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 12:13 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishman
Well I have a Mag 18 that has never been out of the box under my bed.
You'll get around 1300 GPH with a 4 foot head and if you plumb 3 or 4 outlets into the tank using Loc-Line you probably could get away without using any ph in the tank

As far as the "even" trade the price between the two online is only $20 so it might be worth it if you don't want to deal with the excess power of the Mag 18.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 12:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I have the mag 12 now running and have it running like on 2 different routes with 3 outlets. Funny you mention the P/H's as I did some adjusting the other day to one of my overflow boxes and was able to open the Mag 12 up all the way as I had it throttled down. Im thinking of pulling out maybe 2 of the 6 P/H's I have in the tank as the corals are whipping around now like crazy. I had the mag 12 only around 1/2 output. Now that its opened up I assume I have a lot of flow now that I didnt before. OR I can use the P/H's to address dead spots now.
Also right now I have 4ft head from the pump to the top of the outlet.
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Someone with mag 36 pump help Brenden General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-19-2005 11:08 PM
RO/DI System Booster Pump Users... OneBowl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-09-2005 09:54 AM
mag pump problems douggiestyle Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-15-2004 10:57 AM
mag pump noise douggiestyle Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-28-2003 09:26 AM
mag 5 return pump wingsfan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-08-2003 09:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.