Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2012, 05:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
The fish already had the disease and the whole purpose of quarantining is to kill the disease, so the disease or parasite on the floss will get killed. It will get in the water from reproduction off of the fish anyway. I've done it before, and it worked well.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Do you add a new filter floss to your sump then to become established for the next go cause if you are just putting it back into your sump when your done with quarantine then you have contaminated the tank anyways with your meds (whole reason for removing fish most often then not) if it works for you that's great but imo if you want to effectively use a QT they must be treated as completely seperate systems
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:51 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Im just dosing extra fish food to let it rot and keep the ammonia source going. Then before I add anything I'll do a large water change to bring the nitrates down.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:30 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bioteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 306
Ok, so is there any need to do water changes while there are no fish in the tank. For example, if it is fishless for 6 months do I need to change water, or do I just top off to maintain salinity.
__________________
bioteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:46 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Probably not a need to change water. I'm not anyways. I can't think of a reason to.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:10 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
I would do a small water change every so often to replenish trace elements .
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maintain, quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.