Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2013, 02:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
Making own sump

I currently have a 55 gallon tank and going to start on corals soon. I wanted to make a sump for the tank. What exactly will I need? I can use a 10 gallon tank I have but what would I need to put in it? Then like how exactly do you connect the sump to the display tank?

Any info can help! Thanks
__________________

__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
A 10 is small. I would start atleast with a 20 long or bigger. Is your tank drilled? If not you will need a HOB overflow box to remove the water from the tank to get it to the sump. From there it will go through what ever chamber design you choose and then be pumped back into the display tank from the return pump finishing the loop. First things first though we need to know if your tank is drilled.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
It isn't drilled
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Then you will need to decide whether or not you wanna drill the tank. It is the best option but isn't a must. If you decide to go with a HOB then you will need a return pump that'll closely match the siphon of the HOB along with a gate valve on the return plumbing to fine time the flow. Once you have figured all of that out then you can start designing your sump which you always wanna go as big as you can fit.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
Since I have everything in the tank how would I go about drilling it?
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
That would be an issue. Pretty much you'd have to drain the tank and hold everything in tubs/buckets.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
So what if I don't do drill, how would that work? So I know I need to get an over flow box but where do you get like the piping and stuff
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Home Depot, lowes, wherever plumbing parts are sold. I recommend drilling your tank, it the overflow ever for some reason loses its suction, you will end up with an empty sump, and a wet floor. drilling the tank is super easy, drill bits are like 10 $ on eBay. A drilled tank is piece of mind that nothing goes seriously wrong.
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
This is the overflow box you need. It comes with a lifting pump that prevents losing siphon. I have a 60 gal DT with 10 gal sump cause its the only size that fits to my cabinet. I have to supplement my tank with 2 hang on filters but they have 2 additional functions. They act as my circulating pumps and also my back up filters when sump is under maintenance. You can get the PVC pipes and ball valves from Home Depot. My return pump is 460 gal/hr and works pretty good.

CPR CS Overflow Boxes
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 06:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Even the makers of that overflow box recommend using a tank with a built in overflow. That has to say something. And the pump is only used to prime the syphon not to maintain it.
__________________

__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.