Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-30-2009, 09:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
making plans on transfering corals need help

Hey guys i will be transfering corals to the 125 soon from the 55 some pieces i can bag and float in the tank but a few peices are way to big to be bagged like a big arch that has polyps and xenia growing on it i cant bag it..... wat can i do? Drip method?
__________________

__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 09:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
You could use a 5 gallon bucket like, the one aquarium salt comes in. Or a ice chest.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 10:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
cool so drip test?
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 10:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Not to worry. All you have to do is make sure that the two Tanks are very close together as far as temp., SG and PH.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 10:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
Adding to what thincat said. At a Reefers conference, one of the speakers talked about coral acclimation saying corals arent advanced enough to be stressed by the water change. He puts his corals right in fine.
__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
lol so your sayin i could just take corals out of 55 and place in 125??? wow i think i will still do drip method it may be at a face drip.
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
It worked on my xenia, zoas, as well as a frogspawn.
__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
cool LOL
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 03:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 117
its funny i never aclamate my corals the one time i did with a frog spawn it died so i never do it any more the frog spawn was expensive so i did
__________________
crb530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 04:39 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
I never aclamate mine either, Just straight in. never had any die, And they all seem to be growing to quick. :P

EDIT: I actually did aclamate my anemone, Over 20 mins, I added one cup of my water every 5 mins. He seems to be doing very good.
__________________

__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, corals, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfering fish thos2809 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-30-2006 09:53 PM
Transfering tanks Fishyfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 02-22-2005 01:21 AM
New Aquarium - Transfering Old To New noteworthy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-30-2005 07:11 PM
Transfering Fish Xabien Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-18-2004 11:50 PM
Making plans gooyferret Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 09-06-2003 09:52 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.