Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-08-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Mangroves as filtration?

Ow many would I need to dent nitrates and phosphates in a heavily fed 150? I can get them for free and have 44 propagules now. Would that be enough for a decent filter? I want the most natural way possible and I'm already running an ATS and an reef octo NWB 200 but want 1 more filtration method. Would this be enough???
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Here's my collection!!!! They'll be fine out of water for like 36 hours right???
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-971285058.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	111406  
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Anyone have experience with these or know how many I should use? Any input at all would be appreciated!!!!
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:53 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
I have experience with them not doing very well...I had 5 in my 55 and am now down to 4. Where did you get all of those? Either way, make a setup so they can hang into the water, this will simulate the tide effect and produce the roots mangroves are famous for, or just plant them in sand and they will grow like a normal tree. They will need weened onto normal saltwater salinity or they will get a pruning effect on them. Make sure you can spray the tops with freshwater daily. They also need pretty strong lighting.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I'm at vacation in Florida and I live right next to about 80000 mangrove trees do they drop a lot of these guys. I picked the ones up that weren't rooted cuz I know it's illegal to pull them up. Would having 44 actually help the tank???? I that too many??
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:02 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
Lol it might be a tad overkill...but you are right though about it being illegal to uproot them.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
The fuge is like 12"x18"....... Think that's ok??? Will they strangle eachother???
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:19 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
If you use all 40 of them eventually yes. Mangroves take a long time to grow and develop though.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
I don't have any 1st hand experience b/c I like the easy rout of Macro but my LFS said they also use up mag. to grow so you will need to check your levels. I'm sure some1 could confirm/deny this on here at some point.
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:24 PM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. D View Post
I don't have any 1st hand experience b/c I like the easy rout of Macro but my LFS said they also use up mag. to grow so you will need to check your levels. I'm sure some1 could confirm/deny this on here at some point.
Yes they do use up mag. With so few I haven't noticed any difference, but with 40...
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.