Mating Starfish? Or strange stacking game?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dscount

Aquarium Advice Freak
Okay. I'm not an expert but I suspect these two are doing the dance. They have been like this for the last 24 hours. Moving around the tank at the same time still attached.

At first I thought it was just them crawling over each other. So I moved them and they within seconds attached together again.

Anyone got any ideas? Am I due to have baby starfish? No idea how these guys breed or what not. Or how to handle in my tank either.

TIA

Attachments

• starfish_mates_151.jpg
    starfish_mates_151.jpg
    99.5 KB · Views: 238
I am no marine biologist, but I believe starfish are asexual. I would pull them apart if it is not to late. The one on top could be trying to eat the other. I had this happen with some common stars before. A larger one climbed on top of another smaller one the glass and before I noticed it digested it before my eyes.

Good luck,

This is quite typical behavior for sand shifting stars. My lfs has about 20 of these and they are constantly stacked 2 or 3 high. I’ve asked about it recently and they have never had one turn up missing and when they separate them they just go back to stacking within an hour or two.

Sand shifting stars will eat smaller stars though but if they are close to the same size I wouldn’t worry about it.

Reproduction in an aquarium is unheard of and determining sex is near impossible.

Thanks. I don't think the top one is eating the bottom one. But I'll move them again just to check it out. Usually if any dead meat was around those pesky hermits would swarm them.

dscount said:
Usually if any dead meat was around those pesky hermits would swarm them.