Matt's 125 Peninsula Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mattdean

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone,

So, I had this gorgeous 46 Gallon bow front tank that I set up with the help of Big Al's teenage employees. :rolleyes: No sump, crappy - yet expensive - HOB skimmer with no way to adjust, 2 mediocre lights, etc.....regardless, it was beautiful. Actually won tank of the month on one forum. Here’s a pic of the former tank.

46galtank.jpg

I moved my office and studio – I’m a musician, that’s my job – downstairs and had to open up the whole lower level. This was NOT fun, but the finished product is pretty sweet. This is also my home theatre room. I wanted to upgrade my 46 gallon due to the lack of sump, etc. So, this was the opportunity. The room was set up perfectly for a tank in the middle of the room. I have ALWAYS wanted that. This will be my childhood dream manifested. ☺

The new tank is a 125 gallon Peninsula tank. 60 X 24 X 20 Starphyre glass with euro brace. A closed loop with 2 returns that I will have loctite split into 2 flared ends for each return. One short side is all overflow. I have a custom 55 gal acrylic sump. I will be using the middle section for a refugium. I’ll get into the hardware later. I worked with Tom at Oakville Reef Gallery for this set up. He was very helpful and accommodating. There were several problems and hiccups and he did everything he could to make things right. I am happy with the end result. I know I have quality equipment and anticipate a beautiful, enjoyable experience from here on. (Famous last words!) Tyler from BWI helped me with some of the plumbing – which had to be done twice. (More on that later)