Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2012, 09:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Media without a canister filter??

So for all the years I have had my 90 gallon reef I have had a canister filter with only live rock in it. I only recently added my sump. About 2 years of the 6 my tank had been setup I have had the sump/refugium. I ran nothing as far as media in the camiater that came with it. No sponges or filter floss. I occasionally put a bag of reef carbon in one of the trays and I recently started running chemi pure in another tray. Still always with live rock rubble that will be going into my refugium.

I have recently started to breed phytoplankton and rotifers and most recent my pod breeding tank. I am running out of floor space in my tank room and my canister filter has to go. Now my questions.

Can I put a bag a chemi pure in my baffle in my sump? Will it be as effective? Can I run a few scoops of carbon in my phosban phosphate reactor with my phos media?? Is the flow too slow for carbon? I would only run carbon every other phosphate media change.
__________________

__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 01:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
If you keep a good steady flow going through the media you should be good, though I would suspect that the flow will be less if just placed in your sump.

I wouldnt run carbon AND GFO in the same reactor though, the particle sizes are too different and it may clump. You could run one every other month though, unless you have phosphate issues that should work just fine too.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Oh ok. So I'll alternate media in phosphate reactor? That is what I'll do. I have no phosphates so once in while no phosphate media wouldn't be a problem.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
You could:

A. Setup a second reactor daisy chained to the first
B. Place the media in line with the overflow into your sump to maximize flow through
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeYQM
You could:

A. Setup a second reactor daisy chained to the first
B. Place the media in line with the overflow into your sump to maximize flow through
Good idea too. Phos reactor pretty cheap too. I'll check tonight to see If I could fit another one. Sump already packed.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, filter, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium librarygirl Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 32 03-20-2013 12:50 PM
Switching filter media? zach_1_6 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-02-2012 02:10 PM
Looking for advice on canister filter Broke EF General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-31-2011 03:34 AM
Are filter pads and sponges necessary for canister filters? edmond General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-01-2011 08:55 PM
Using Filter Media from aquaone in a juwel filter. bjtaylor Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 07-31-2011 07:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.