Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2004, 02:21 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
If the ground is loose, you may be generating 'white' noise. You can test this by running an extension cord from an outlet on a different circuit than your VCR is on. (If in doubt, run one from your garage (if you have one). All devices are required to accept certain 'noise' (That little sticker on all electrical devices stating part 1 5 of the FCC code saying it may not generate noise and must accept any noise..Our gvm't hard at work there..) In the case of really cheap electronics, the filter caps are probably way cheap and allowing the noise through. More expensive devices use higher quality caps (Capacitors) and sometimes utilize IC chips to further filter ac or dc to produce a smooth supply of power. (Referred to as power 'conidtioning' in the computer biz ; )
You should consider this a fire hazard if its not properly grounded and most certainly it is as dangerous as any device not properly grounded. (Though most likely you'll just get a good jolt that would make you wish you were dead for a few seconds..) If your not electrically inclined, I would take it to a local electronics repair store to get that ground shored up no matter what the 'test' results.

GL!
__________________

__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 03:06 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 429
Basicly, your outlet should be grounded. Testing this requires a multimeter, a wire, and some other grounded object. If your outlet isn't grounded, this is a problem that should be fixed .

The third wire from the power cable (usually green, although colors don't mean squat sometimes) should be attached to the ballast (or through metal to the ballast) via a locking nut with the little metal teeth (better contact).
__________________

__________________
55g reef, 2x250W 10k MH + 2x96W PC actninc, 10g sump, AquaC Urchin skimmer, 65lbs LR

xenia, mushrooms, wels. open brain, fungia radiata (orange), green eyed zoos

flame angel, mated pair of false perc, 6-line, firefish

20gH electric yellow cichlid
theatrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
halide, metal, metal halide

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
metal Halide madstyle1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 11-03-2008 01:52 AM
metal halide chili is hot Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-29-2005 08:36 AM
Metal Halide General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-26-2005 12:43 AM
metal halide ohio reefer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-23-2003 08:06 PM
metal halide? pomme Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-15-2003 02:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.