Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-25-2005, 09:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

MH lighting...again

So I have been shopping for MH lighting for several months now and need some opinions. I think I have it narrowed down to the Coralife Aqualight Pro with 2x150 watt MH (10K) and 2x96 watt actinic CF suppliments or the Coralife Aqualight Advanced with 2x150 watt (20K) MH. I like the extra wattage of the Pro fixture plus, it comes with moonlights. However, it is too wide to rest on my tank (72gal bow front) and will need to be hung from the ceiling. The advanced fixture is thinner and will rest on the top of my tank using the supplied mounting legs. Less wattage though and no moonlights. What would you do???

Old 05-25-2005, 09:48 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

How much price difference?

Old 05-25-2005, 09:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Build your own! It is cheaper and you can have any configuration you can fit on the tank. Otherwise, it should depend on what you are going to put in the tank. If you need the higher wattage, you could always supplement with another actinic light as well.
Old 05-25-2005, 10:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
How much price difference?
Pro fixture is $595 on ebay (new) and the Advanced fixture is $530 on various sites. By the way, I think I have decided against the fixture from AquaTraders. There was not really positive feedback from the link you provided. Just problems with broken bulbs and poor customer service. A little voice in the back of my head said to stay away from it.
Quote:
Build your own!
I have thought about this. My father-in-law is an electriction and very handy. I am not. This would require me to put a hood on my tank which I really do not want to do. I am afraid temp would become an issue.