Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-12-2013, 01:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Mineral mud in HOB fuge...

Modding an AC110. Considering putting mineral mud, rock rubble, and chaeto. Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
Modding an AC110. Considering putting mineral mud, rock rubble, and chaeto. Thoughts?
IMO the mud will be kinda pointless in the ac110. I'd just run it with the rubble and chaeto.
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by bribo12 View Post

IMO the mud will be kinda pointless in the ac110. I'd just run it with the rubble and chaeto.
How come pointless out of curiosity? Seems like a lot of people I've seen online use the mud in their fuge... Jw.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post

How come pointless out of curiosity? Seems like a lot of people I've seen online use the mud in their fuge... Jw.
Well the only reason to run mineral mud would be if you have plants that would feed off the minerals in it. Chaeto floats so it doesn't use the mud at all. Also, that mud will turn your tank nasty in that hob fuge.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Actually it's made to be a fuge substrate...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
Actually it's made to be a fuge substrate...
Yes I know but it really serves the same purpose as sand and is different in that it is used for root feeding plants. Sand houses micro fauna and bacteria the same way so why spend the money on the mud. A hob filter isn't much of a fuge.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
It will be modded, and won't function exactly as a hob. YouTube it to get an idea.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:12 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
It will be modded, and won't function exactly as a hob. YouTube it to get an idea.
I know how they work. All I was saying is that it is a pretty small refugium and sand will do the same exact thing. You're not growing mangroves or another root feeding plant. You are growing a floating plant. Therefore the minerals in the mud really serve no purpose.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Ok now I gotcha. So what is the hype about it lol? That being said, do I even really need "rubble" or can I just put 2 smaller pieces in with a macro?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Rubble has more surface area. Which means more BB.
__________________

__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.