Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2006, 08:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
minimum time for freshly made saltwater

hello, what is the minimum time for allowing freshly made sw to aerate. i know its supposed to be 24 hrs, but what about emergencies??
__________________

__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I think around 12 hrs would not be a issue as long as the salt has mixed good. Throwing a extra pump or PH in it will help a lot in shorting the time. Other than that you have to weight the necessary of a "evil". You could mix a lot less and use if the situation was severe enough.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
thanks, im an idiot and didnt cover the newly made fresh water during the 24 hour period, and am now having nitrite and ammonia problems. i didnt check my new water and did 2 water changes with ro/di water that needed the filters changed, so i changed them, nitrites 0 but the ammonia is between .5 and 1 (ouch), i i figure it needs to be covered.. i tested the ro/di water and its 0 across the line (ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates) ....... not in the tank the ammonia is .25, nitrites 2, ph 7.9, i didnt even check the nitrates, i know they have to be bad... im in the process of making new water (that i will cover) so that i can do the appropriate water changes..... too bad i can only do about 25 gallons in 24 hours, thats why i was asking.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
You do not want to cover the water. The main reason for mixing 24 hrs is to oxygenate the water. If it is covered it will not allow gas exchange. If you have NH3 and NO2 it is not because it was not covered. Am I understanding this correctly? The RO water was all "0" and then you added salt and it had NH3 and NO2? What brand salt? You sure the test was correct?
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 12:59 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to mnestroy
So your saying when you do your 20% water changes your supposd to let the new salt water stir in a bucket for 24hrs before it goes into your tank?

Whats wrong with just letting it mix for a half hr or so?
__________________
mnestroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:51 AM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
freshly made salt water is too caustic to add straight to the tank. Better to let sit for a while to aerate and mix properly.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 09:47 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
well to make a long story short, it turns out that my ro/di water has ammonia in it, which is causing all these problems, as you can imagine. this ammonia is goin into my tank and then turning into nitrites, etc,etc.... im glad i dont have any fish. i feel bad for my peppermint shrimp though. i tested the ro/di water for nitrite and nitrate because my tanks perameters were messing up, which i couldnt figure out becuase i had done major water changes after i lost my six line and a shrimp to a crab. i had done 4 water changes and it was getting worse, not better, so i tested the ro/di water and it had nitrites, so i changed the filters and it went to 0 (3 days ago). last night, i tested for ammonia because the fresh sw was showing nitrites again and its NOOOO good. i think it was between 2-4. how is this possible?? i added some water conditioner to it, but ive heard that screws with the ammonia readings because of the chloramines or something..... what do i do???
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 09:53 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Do the filters or resin or membrane need to be replaced on your RO/DI ? Cant understand the ammonia part.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 10:18 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
they were all changed (6 stage) 3 days ago. i cant figure it out either, i dont know what to do. is better just to use tap and use water conditioner?? or use the conditioner with the ro/di? i live in an apt, maybe the water is bad in the first place, but i thought the ro/di would take care of it....... i remember testing it and all it had was 10 of nitrate.......
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 11:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
How old is you ammonia test kit, and what brand?

I would get a second ammonia test done, like at your LFS, cuz RO water should not have ammonia or nitrite. New tank water might because of the cycling process, but newly mixed SW should not.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salt, saltwater

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What made you choose Saltwater over Freshwater? ( 8 ) eiGhtBaLL Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-15-2009 01:57 AM
New Saltwater tank, bare minimum set up. logancollins Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 06-16-2008 08:23 PM
Man Made saltwater vs. Nature Made saltwater. Verbalkint Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-04-2005 05:40 PM
first time mixing saltwater...help jennymit21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 11-19-2004 04:49 PM
What made you chose Freshwater over Saltwater? ( 8 ) eiGhtBaLL Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 05-13-2003 01:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.