Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2003, 05:45 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
More on water level

I still don't think I am doing this right. We have the water level to
just the top of the divider. This makes the water on the refuge side rather shallow, less than half the tank has water in it. The pump side of the sump, will actually go stagnant at the top. Should we have more water in this?
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 09:12 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Stagnant water in the pump part of the sump isn't unusual, there isn't much surface movement there. That's a good thing to prevent micro bubbles from reentering the main tank.
As far as the water level you want to be sure your sump will handle the water from a power out. Kill your pump(s) and let the tank drain into the sump. If there is room, fill the sump to the top. Restart the pump(s). This will be your maximum (safe) sump level. If it's not enough for the 'fuge you may have to rethink the idea a little.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 10:38 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
ALso once the pumps have been started mark the maximum safe water level with something on the sump. Then when adding top off water or doing a water change you will know how high to fill the sump.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 09:22 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
ok, so then,(forgive my denseness), it is alright and prefereable to make the water line be above the divider, so that all of the water does not have to go through the sponge filter and then underneath? Half goes under and lots goes over the top of the divider?
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 10:22 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
In my view set the water level where ever you want it.

Shoot if you saw my sump you would wonder why mine is not seperated up into seperate compartments.

I run my sump at 90% full all the time. But I know if i loose power it will fill up to 100% andnot overflow.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 11:49 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
I would remove the sponge filter. That may be slowing the flow through the baffel.

Actually a pic of your problem may be the best way to get some ideas.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 12:03 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
heh, the "problem" is that I do not know how high the water level should be. Everything is flowing just fine. I was under the impression that the water level had to be below the baffle level to be effective. Yet, the baffle level is set at 50% tank volume. That seems almost too low for it to act as an effective refugium, but seeing as I have never worked with a refug, I could be all wet
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 12:43 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Is it a refugium or a sump you are using as a refugium? I didn't mean you had a problem but if it'd not to your satisfaction then it should be fixed. Post a pic. A pic is worth a thousand posts or something like that
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 12:51 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
ok ..it is a sump. We are using the center part as a refugium. As you can see in this pic, the water is just to the height of the baffle. The only difference now, from this photo, is that I have removed the basket and added some sprouts of Caulerpa.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 12:57 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Thanks for the pic!!!!
The water comes in a the right, right?
The pump is hooked to the left compartment?
Assuming that is true, I would put a baffle to form a skinny compartment where the water comes in to keep bubbles to a minimum in the 'fuge part (unless you have mitigated the splashing another way). Fill the thing up like I described to the maximum allowable level. Forget the function of the left baffle except to keep the sand out of the pump. Let the water flow over the top. If needed (to keep micro bubbles oout of the main tank) put another baffle in the left compartment to allow water to flow under it so the water has to go over then under before reaching the pump.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water level with overflow... jrose2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-11-2009 10:05 PM
WATER LEVEL adacaro Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 01-02-2006 10:00 PM
water level chiefs101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-01-2006 06:40 PM
Water level spongebobby Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-26-2004 12:22 PM
Water level wahooburger Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-07-2003 03:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.