Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2012, 02:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Moving 55g only inches (... literally)

I just purchased 2 MP10's and just realized that 1 side of the tank is too close to the wall for it to fit. I literally need 1 more inch and the MP10 will fit.

I've also thought of just keeping a Koralia on the 1 side since it might be too much work for just a PH. Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
If you can empty the tank quite a bit you might be able to slide the whole tank and stand. BUT depending on your flooring and the equipment you have underneath a slide might not work.

If it were me, I would probably try to slide it, but I can be anal retentive. LOL

If you can't do the move I don't see why you couldnt use a koralia on the one side. You would loose the option to sync the two mp's though. :-( I have a single mp10 in my 60g and it works out just fine. I guess it's up to you and how much work you wanna put in to have the two mp's.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
This will really depend on your flooring, but I couldn't slide my 56 gallon tank on my carpet flooring even when it was over 75% drained. I had to drain it completely and take it off the stand before I could move my stand over. But I have thick carpeting where the tank is. Maybe try to drain it enough that you can slide some of those "moving men" furniture sliders underneath it to help slide it. I used to keep them under my 30 gallon (on laminate flooring) so that I could move it a little if I needed to.
__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Or you could just put both mp10s on the same side.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
What if you used those furniture mover discs for Home Depot? You would only need to lift each corner half inch to,slide them under. Just a thought???
__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 12:54 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
The furniture movers have been a thought, but I don't want to do too much shifting with the tank. I was thinking of maybe sliding 2 metal strips under the stand and slide it with a lift strap.

My carpet is thick, and so is the pad beneath it, so the tank has a good imprint as it is. Do you think placing all of the water in buckets (except enough to cover the 5" sand bed) will make it moveable?

Also, would 2 MP10s inches away from each other on the same side defeat the purpose for water movement? (basically redundant?)
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 02:17 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
Quote:
Originally Posted by uscamaro
The furniture movers have been a thought, but I don't want to do too much shifting with the tank. I was thinking of maybe sliding 2 metal strips under the stand and slide it with a lift strap.

My carpet is thick, and so is the pad beneath it, so the tank has a good imprint as it is. Do you think placing all of the water in buckets (except enough to cover the 5" sand bed) will make it moveable?

Also, would 2 MP10s inches away from each other on the same side defeat the purpose for water movement? (basically redundant?)
I think if you take most of the water out, your plan should work.
__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:56 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
I had to move my 75g tank across my basement so I got 2 people, drained the water into a couple 32g brute containers and picked up the tank while one person moved the stand from beneath to the spot I wanted the tank to be at. It was about 400lbs drained so a few people may be needed. For me 2 held the tank until the other moved the stand and came back to help move the tank.
__________________

__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, moving

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.