Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2014, 11:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Moving deep sand bed

I'm moving this weekend and here is my idea.. Let me know what you think

I have a 1.5 year old deep sand bed in my 150g reef. I'm moving this weekend and planning on moving the deep sand bed into a 40g trough that will be plumbed into the new system. I planned on leaving it seperate for a few weeks with filtration. before letting it go into the new system. Will this hurt anything or should I just pitch it? The sand bed is full of great life that I don't want to lose..
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Frankie_Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 603
It may cause an ammonia spike from the poop and all that this is under the rocks
__________________

__________________
Frankie_Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
That's why I thought I would run a filter on it for a few weeks before opening it up to the new system. And do water changes on it
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Frankie_Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 603
You could put the sand in buckets, clean it to where all the black junk is out then use it again. That's what I did and no ammonia spike
__________________
Frankie_Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
But won't I lose all the fauna? My pod and worm population is awesome right now. I just don't want to lose it all.. Is my thought just not an option?
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Frankie_Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 603
Hmm I am honestly not sure! Hopefully someone else will chime in.
__________________
Frankie_Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
Moving deep sand bed

If you rinse the sand in tank water you should be fine. I would take the sand out after you remove the fish siphon it all out move it then set it up. If you are going to have a filter on it I would stir it up once a day and let the filter remove any gunk.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:57 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Thank you. That's what I'm hoping to do. I just hate to lose all the fauna population since I have a mandarin and scooter blenny
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
It's hard getting populations to build up I would keep mine as well. Make sure you test for ammonia just to be sure before you add it just for peace of mind.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 04:49 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Sounds like a plan. Thank you much!! Wanna help move the tank?? :P
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving, sand, sand bed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand grain size for deep sand bed Hondatek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 11-15-2011 07:15 PM
Deep sand bed or no deep sand bed debate Gti_Leo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 02-24-2011 06:10 PM
Deep sand Bed good bad? and Moving Earthgoddess Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-13-2005 05:55 PM
Barebottom substrate or 1/2 -1" sand non-deep sand bed? luckycat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-12-2005 05:52 PM
Deep Sand Bed?? Or just sand bed??? Utradeshow Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-29-2004 05:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.