Moving Fish Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ryan5

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am in the middle of moving and tomorrow I am moving my fish tank. I have a pretty basic idea of what my plan of action was going to be tomorrow but I was wondering if anyone else on here had some helpful tips. I had read that it was a good idea to change out the sand in the tank now and put new sand in the tank. Is this actually a good idea or not? Thanks for any help

Im not an expert on this kind of stuff, however it would be a good idea to if and only if you had the sand in there for a long time. Atleast thats what I have found myself through trial and error.

I would definitely trash the sand if you have had the tank longer than 6-8 months. Who knows what nasties have built up under it. Why take the risk? Just save a little to seed the new sand bed.

I would definitely trash the sand if you have had the tank longer than 6-8 months. Who knows what nasties have built up under it. Why take the risk? Just save a little to seed the new sand bed.
Totally agree with you here.

About how much would you save and seed for the new sand bed? A half, a third, a quarter of the current sand?

I understand why people are saying this and I know the "dangers". I just wanted to share my experience in this. I had a 120 where the front pane began to fall off. In an emergency I had to move it into a 75. I pumped the water out, scooped the sand and re placed it into the new tank. Granted, this "move" was only feet but I'm happy to say I lost nothing. Just a counter story in case something happens to not go as planned