Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2014, 09:39 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
I was going to try and save as much water as possible. That was another question . How much to save.. I'm just worried that using all new I would go they a 6 month cycle again.. That's how long I waited until I added my first fish. But I waited until everything cycles. Cyano and all. Since in using new live sand. It will creat a few week cycle anyways won't it?
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:41 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I don't think using new sand will do this, but I think (depending on how old your existing sand bed is) using old sand can.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:45 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
It may cause a mini cycle, I have upgraded/moved tanks several times, I set up a kiddie pool, with all old water, set up new tank with old live rock and test for a week. With all the stirring up of the old sand moving it, that is difinity going to cause a cycle and release all the nasties hidden in there (depending on how old it is) A mini cycle should be 1-2 weeks, most of your bacteria is in your live rock, (depending on how much you have and what size of tank) Used water is just that used depleted water, thats why we do water changes. It carries little to no beneficial bacteria.
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:48 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Sand in there now is over a year old. But the problem of using this sand is. Is how I have it layered.. There is a 2+" layer of crushed coral under the aragonite. I want to separate that as much as I can and wash it out and reuse it in a new fuge in the basement
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:52 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Ok. So just removing water in the very beginning to transfer the fish should be no big deal. When I get the tank set back up I will use just a little of old. In with the new water. I still want to fill up the tank with ro. Our town water is full of phosphates..
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:54 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Or should I just pitch the sand and start all new? My tank is 150g so the price will be up there in new sand. Haha
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:04 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would not risk it. Use new sand. If you don't want to spend the money, wash out the sand extremely well. How are you going to separate the cc from the fine grains? A screen of some sort?
Just a FYI for both of you guys, according to this article-
Feature Article: Bacterial Counts in Reef Aquarium Water: Baseline Values and Modulation by Carbon Dosing, Protein Skimming, and Granular Activated Carbon Filtration ‚ÄĒ Advanced Aquarist | Aquarist Magazine and Blog
there is quite a bit of bacteria in the water column. Enough to not have to cycle a tank? I wouldn't trust there is, but there's a substantial amount.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:21 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
I think I'm going to try and suck out that aragonite and stay away from the cc. Once I get to it. Ill just put the rest in a different bucket. I won't be too picky on how much is mixed . That was my plan anyway.
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 08:25 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Mr X will post anything to get to that 15,000 post mark, lol
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 09:54 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Haha that's funny
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving houses moving tanks! Kromlech54 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 03-23-2013 03:20 PM
DIY moving bed not really moving. Tiger1 DIY Projects 6 11-28-2011 02:14 PM
Moving to my new home and looking for advice for moving tank sliderfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2009 11:30 PM
My fish and i are moving 5hours away. need help plz phil79 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-07-2003 01:15 PM
Moving fish... help!! HOLLIEO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-04-2003 11:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.