Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-31-2005, 02:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Moving tank to basement. Need advice.

I currently have my tank in my room (upstairs), and my dad hates it up there. He is afraid it will overflow or leak. So he said I have to move it into the basement. What my idea for doing it is... I would get 2 or 3 rubbermaid tubs, and siphon the water from the tank all into the tubs. Then, bring the empty tank downstairs. Set it up, and get it ready for water. The I would put my mag5 pump into the rubber maid tub, and connect it to a few hoses (garden hoses) and pump the water back into the tank in the basement. So my main question is, will it be OK to use a few garden hoses to pump water downstairs? I have hot water outside, so maybe I could run hot water(and I mean really HOT) through the hose for a few minutes to maybe burn out whatever is in there, if anything is in there. Please help!
__________________

__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 03:58 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Sounds like a plan.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Lol! But is using the garden hose OK? I dont want to contaminate my water and have everything die.
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:22 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont think you will. I would do the same if it was me.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Ok sweet! Thanks alot!!! I am going to start right away.
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 05:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montgomery County MD
Posts: 288
To prevent your back from breaking, you might want to place the rubbermaid tubs downstairs, then get a 5G bucket or two and just do trips? Maybe that's safer than moving a tub down the basement.

I am sorry that you ended up having to go through this. (sorry, Hara. Comment deleted. I meant well for our friend). Good luck, friend!
__________________
We live and we learn
AMANIQU77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 05:06 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Please do not criticize other peoples parents here. Thank you.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 06:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Well, I wasnt going to carry anything. I said above that I was going to place my Mag5 in the tubs and pump the water downstairs to the tank (which will have been emptied and moved already).

I really dont mind me doing this, because I know how he feels about it overflowing. I would be scared too. In the basment, if it overflows, it wont to anything to the house. So I am happy about that. Plus more people will be able to see it and enjoy it.
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 07:19 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pleasant Gorve, Utah
Posts: 264
Send a message via MSN to fishrfreinds
I am on the second story in my house and thats where my tank is. my parents dont mind, but untill it moves somewhere else im not getting new carpet. the nice thing about my room is that it has a sink in there. So i dont have drag around bucket all though the house and that way i dont spill.

Make sure you have a lot of help so nothing goes wrong.
__________________
RIP Elliott Smith, and AD.

I dont want to be a Advice Freak!
fishrfreinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 08:39 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
IMO a garden hose is NOT a good idea. I want to say they might leach something into the water. When I run the hose the water always smells different, you know that hose water smell and it tastes different too. Get some help and carry the cans down stairs, get a couple so there not that heavy.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, moving, moving tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to my new home and looking for advice for moving tank sliderfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2009 11:30 PM
Moving 65 gal to basement Cromileptes14 DIY Projects 3 02-05-2009 07:55 PM
Plan For Moving Filtration to Basement amahler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 22 05-27-2005 11:49 PM
Considering moving filtration to basement... input? amahler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-09-2005 05:04 PM
Need help - moving sump to the basement ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 02-22-2005 03:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.