Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2012, 11:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 667
Could I get away with a pair of mp10's on a 135g tank? Or maybe one mp40 And one mp10. Mp40's are a little costly, although not that much more than a comparable setup with koralia's and a controller.
What do you guys think?

Or what about 2 tunze 6100? That may be what I end up with, a little cheaper than the vortechs.
__________________

__________________
Saratj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 183
I would go with the tunze I just purchased 2 6105s for my 135 after doing a bunch of research
__________________

__________________
Nosaj81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 667
Actually just bought the tunze ts24 setup which is 2x 6100's and a controller, got it used on eBay for the same price as I was thinking about buying an mp40 for. I was about to buy the mp40 but felt like I needed another powerhead for symmetry if anything so I thought about buying an mp10, because 2 mp40's would be a little costly.
But bought the tunze's, a little old but a lot of positive reviews online so we will see.
__________________
Saratj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saratj1 View Post
Could I get away with a pair of mp10's on a 135g tank? Or maybe one mp40 And one mp10. Mp40's are a little costly, although not that much more than a comparable setup with koralia's and a controller.
What do you guys think?

Or what about 2 tunze 6100? That may be what I end up with, a little cheaper than the vortechs.
In me eyes the only disadvantage to to the vortechs is pricey. That being said, if you can save the money up, do it. 2 mp40's would be ideal however 1 mp 40 and an mp10 will suffice. I would recommend saving for another mp40 and selling the mp10 at a latter time. They can easily resale upwards of 200 so not much loss.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 667
Got my tunze's in today very excited. But I don't have my 135g up and going yet so won't get to try them out ,
I stuck one in my 47g column tank and couldn't even let it spin up and sand was everywhere. I mean I didn't even get the plug into the socket and immediately pulled it out, so they got some power.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-651651274.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	191.0 KB
ID:	138542
__________________
Saratj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1.5g, reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.