Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2013, 04:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ChiTownRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 465
Mp10 too much flow for a 50 gallon?

I just bought a Mp10 for my tank cause I love how small it is. I just rebuilt my aquascape to help get rid of dead spots, But even on 30% (the third Led) in Nutrient Export mode, my torch, Duncans and frog spawn are getting blown around. I have it in the middle of the left side glass. Did I really just waste all this money on a Power head I can't really use? I also have a Marineland 3-360 with Purigen and Phosguard in it which is pumping 360gph. So did I really waste money getting a mp10?

Here are some pics of my Newly built aquascape and coral placement. Sorry it was lights out when I took these pics so corals are kinda closed up.







__________________

__________________
ChiTownRomeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 07:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I use an MP10 in my 60g cube and its the perfect flow. BUT my tank is only 24 inches wide... I keep mine about halfway down the tank wall, say 12 inches..How tall is your tank? Perhaps you could move it higher up?
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:35 AM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
I would actually think an MP10 would be too small for a 50...but tell us about your tank dimensions if you would. From your pictures, the tank looks like a 55 to me so adding clearity will help in the matter. Have you tried other modes? What happens when you turn it down to 20%?
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I think you would be ok because the 55 standard tank is pretty narrow and the flow has the potential to be concentrated and will cause a lot of disruption on its way back. My MP10 on my 40 breeder is set on reef crest mode at only 40%. If I put it up to 75 % my tank looks like it's being dismantled. I say you are fine, play with the settings, find what's best, and enjoy.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 03:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ChiTownRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
I think you would be ok because the 55 standard tank is pretty narrow and the flow has the potential to be concentrated and will cause a lot of disruption on its way back. My MP10 on my 40 breeder is set on reef crest mode at only 40%. If I put it up to 75 % my tank looks like it's being dismantled. I say you are fine, play with the settings, find what's best, and enjoy.
I took it off Nutrient Export and set it to reef crest 60%. they seem to like it and it doesn't blow them around.
__________________
ChiTownRomeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 07:24 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiTownRomeo View Post
I took it off Nutrient Export and set it to reef crest 60%. they seem to like it and it doesn't blow them around.
Good to hear. With all it's settings I would be very surprised if you couldn't make it work for you... Also, if you find reef rest to be too violent, try the lagoon mode. It ramps up and declines at a more gradual pace.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 02:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
22engine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: RI
Posts: 1,276
That mode is designed to stir everything up so your filtration can get it out of the tank. Reef Crest is my favorite. My 45 cube is at 75% RC and everything is happy and no dead spots. I did it slowly though. Every few day i would go up one led light and let the corals get us to it. Now everything loves it.
__________________
22engine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 02:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Saltwaterfish56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 135
I literally have the same exact problem !! Try this , i put it on the back of the tank in the middle towards the top , on reef crest and everything gets perfect flow while maintaining zero dead spots , try that !!! If they still get blown turn it down a notch or two
__________________

__________________
Saltwaterfish56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 gallon, flow, gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.