Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 10-03-2004, 04:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
mucous-like material in filter line and water

I'm very new to salt water. I have a 30 gal tank with a few damsels which has not yet cycled. I performed a partial water change yesterday, vaccuumed the gravel and replaced / rinsed the filter media in the canister filter as per the instructions.

Today I notice thin sheets of white, mucous like material in the water. When in the water it looks almost like thin sheets of silk, but when removed it's more mucous-like. There was a looooong sheet of it in the line running from the canister back to the tank, which dislodged when I pinched the line.

Ideas and suggestions would be very much appreciated. I scanned the headings of previously posted messages and didn't see any similar looking questions. If this has been answered, I apologize for the repeat and would appreciate being pointed to the correct thread.

Thanks in advance.

copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 04:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
I've attached a photo of the situation (hopefully this works...)

Thanks again in advance

Old 10-03-2004, 09:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
Also, the same white slime seems to be growing on the tank walls... is this just algae? Or maybe some kind of mold? I'm so inexperienced that I dont know what to think of this...
Old 10-03-2004, 09:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
I've got the same thing. For me its covering the LR like a blanket or spiderweb. Its creating a skin on the LS and in places with high current like on powerheads it makes long strings. I have no clue what it is though.
sevise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 07:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie