Multiple tang question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brenden

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have no experience with tangs but have read they can get aggressive when together in a tank if they do not have enough room. I figured I would ask the experts before I purchased. Would purchasing 2 purple, 1 sailfin, 2 yellow tangs be a definite "don't do " for my tank or do you think they would have a good chance of getting along with the room they would have?

You can have that in a 525 no problem.

A japanese hibachi place in my town has a sohal, a yelow, a blue, and a naso in a 280 and they are all full grown and get along fine! The sohal does run the show in the tank though.

If I were you I'd probably nix the Sailfin, they don't look as pretty when they get full grown. I'd trade that guy for a sohal. That's just me though, everyone's fish preference is different.

sohals are so beautiful.

I guess the only thing is adding the most aggressive last from what i read.

I would tend to think there should be no problem with that size of tank! But being all of them Zebrasomas you might get a quarrel or two once in a while, no problem with that whatsoever.

I have a yellow tang in my 55 gal, years ago I had another one in the same tank. I've found out that they are aggresive to fish that have the same color and look like them, for example a yellow angel or butterfly fish. Of course this is from personal experience only, other people may be ok with the combination in a much bigger tank.

But then again, I went to Sea World the other day and they had a huge tank PACKED with yellow tangs, everybody was getting along just fine...

Having that many tangs in your tank should not be a problem, but having that many of the same shape probably will be. if you had a naso, hippo, sailfin, purple they would probably get along with no problems.